1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

SetCPU on Droid X

Discussion in 'Droid X Hacks' started by Elkay, Jul 22, 2010.

  1. Elkay
    Offline

    Elkay New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CT, USA
    I installed it and all went well. I can't seem to find a way to overclock beyond the stock 1Ghz, though. Do we need a different kernel to be able to do that? Or does SetCPU just need an update?

    I'm rooted, btw.
  2. ryantbdm
    Offline

    ryantbdm New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yea. You need a custom kernel. They just rooted it so it will be awhile for kernels and roms to come out if any. The bootloader is locked so it might not even happen. The point in setcpu on the x right now is for underclocking to save some battery power

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  3. Elkay
    Offline

    Elkay New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CT, USA
    Figured, thanks!
  4. ryantbdm
    Offline

    ryantbdm New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yea, no problem. If you know any about coding, you might be able to work with the stock kernel to squeeze some power out. Birdman is doing it now also

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  5. Elkay
    Offline

    Elkay New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CT, USA
    I write primarily in VB. C has never been my forte, only dabbling in it here and there. Right now I'm just happy being able to get all of the bloatware off the thing. City ID was really making me twitch.
  6. ryantbdm
    Offline

    ryantbdm New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hahaha nice. Yea the main reason I rooted my droid was to get rid of the crap. AmazonMP3?? Fo real?? :p

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  7. mcsinfl
    Offline

    mcsinfl New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    my guess is we will be able to overclock. i know they somehow tricked the system on the milestone and are able to overclock (I'm assuming with stock kernel?), and we're rooted using the same process as the milestone, so hopefully the ability to overclock will be like the milestone, at least until/if the bootloader is hacked
  8. Elkay
    Offline

    Elkay New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CT, USA
    That's what I was counting on, too.

    And yeah.. Amazon MP3 was the second one to get the boot.
  9. keshavcharya
    Offline

    keshavcharya New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am just wondering if we do see some kernels or ROMS for this phone, how high our TI OMAP cpu will take us? Just for comparison, although it might not be a real representation when we do see a working setcpu, the original Motorola Droid's TI OMAP cpu OCs pretty well. from 550mhz to 1Ghz+. I am hoping for the same with the X's. I love ocing my pcs, and I can oc them to high levels, so this is just more fun for me ;).
  10. dB Zac
    Offline

    dB Zac New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have heard that the milestone overclocking method will work on the Droid X
  11. Elkay
    Offline

    Elkay New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CT, USA
    It "should", but we don't know (at least not for sure) the addresses necessary to change the required parameters. I reached out to the dev that got it working on the Milestone and D1, but haven't heard anything back.
  12. flipnduc
    Offline

    flipnduc New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    the stock kernel only allows it to hit 1k ghz.

    cant go beyond that till some develops another kernel.

    i dont see the need to go any faster though...its already fast....and faster you go results in a shorter battery life.

    I actually use setCPU to UNDERclock my processor when the display is off, and when my battery hits certain percentage of battery left....
  13. Elkay
    Offline

    Elkay New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CT, USA
    Not true. See Milestone.
  14. flipnduc
    Offline

    flipnduc New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    well as the DX stands now...my statement is valid.
  15. Elkay
    Offline

    Elkay New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CT, USA
    The kernel is not locked at 1Ghz. There are addresses that can be written to with a kernel module to set the frequency and voltage tables to higher values. We just don't know the addresses yet.
  16. flipnduc
    Offline

    flipnduc New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i understand it is not locked...but due to the devs not knowing the needed info...how do you get it above 1k at this very moment?
  17. dB Zac
    Offline

    dB Zac New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The stock.cpu governor already does that. Unless you are running multiple profiles, i see no reason to install setcpu untill a custom over clocked kernal is developed
  18. Elkay
    Offline

    Elkay New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CT, USA
    I was just stating that there is a difference between "set" and "locked", and that we don't need a different kernel to achieve overclocking. You're correct that as of this moment, we can't set it above 1Ghz. I'm sure in the next few weeks we'll have it, though. Just a matter of having someone knowledgeable find those addresses. Once I know the addresses, I can set it manually without SetCPU.
  19. flipnduc
    Offline

    flipnduc New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    ya thats the only reason I am running setcpu...i had it on my Droid 1...it was already paid for...so I put it on my DX...
  20. givmedew
    Offline

    givmedew New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    St Pete, FL and Aurora, IL
    Isn't there theory supporting that there isn't a substantial difference? The way I understand it is that if you increase the speed that it takes to compute information then you decrease the amount of time that the cpu runs at full speed. This is the reason why the droid can run at 1.25ghz and still afford an acceptable battery life. Of course if you run it full out at 2x speed for 5 minutes vs 1x speed for 5 minutes there will be an obvious and huge difference in battery consumption but this is not a fair comparison!

    Also they have 2GHZ in the works the faster it is the more software developers have to work with.

    Only problem is that since there is so many specs and capabilities of android devices that devs probably don't know how much performance they can ask for.

    Either way I am pretty sure that there is a near NEED for the majority of us to see what the Droid X can do and there is a definite use for it and there is an unlikely loss of overall battery life because of it.
Similar Threads
  1. jimmiet
    Replies:
    20
    Views:
    3,253
  2. Jake Benson
    Replies:
    11
    Views:
    3,922
  3. ColdSteele
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    1,370
  4. DROOIID
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    1,455
  5. hacku
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    3,556
Loading...
Search tags for this page
droid x cpu overclock
,

droid x setcpu

,
how to overclock droid x with setcpu
,
how to work setcpu to work on droid
,
is setcpu compatible with the droid x
,
overclock droid x with setcpu
,
set cpu droid x
,
set cpu on droid x
,
set cpu over clock dx
,

setcpu droid x

,
setcpu motorola droid x
,
setcpu overclock droid x