SetCPU on Droid X

Discussion in 'Droid X Hacks' started by Elkay, Jul 22, 2010.

  1. Elkay
    Offline

    Elkay Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    CT, USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I installed it and all went well. I can't seem to find a way to overclock beyond the stock 1Ghz, though. Do we need a different kernel to be able to do that? Or does SetCPU just need an update?

    I'm rooted, btw.
     
  2. ryantbdm
    Offline

    ryantbdm Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yea. You need a custom kernel. They just rooted it so it will be awhile for kernels and roms to come out if any. The bootloader is locked so it might not even happen. The point in setcpu on the x right now is for underclocking to save some battery power

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  3. Elkay
    Offline

    Elkay Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    CT, USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Figured, thanks!
     
  4. ryantbdm
    Offline

    ryantbdm Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yea, no problem. If you know any about coding, you might be able to work with the stock kernel to squeeze some power out. Birdman is doing it now also

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  5. Elkay
    Offline

    Elkay Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    CT, USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I write primarily in VB. C has never been my forte, only dabbling in it here and there. Right now I'm just happy being able to get all of the bloatware off the thing. City ID was really making me twitch.
     
  6. ryantbdm
    Offline

    ryantbdm Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hahaha nice. Yea the main reason I rooted my droid was to get rid of the crap. AmazonMP3?? Fo real?? :p

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  7. mcsinfl
    Offline

    mcsinfl Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    my guess is we will be able to overclock. i know they somehow tricked the system on the milestone and are able to overclock (I'm assuming with stock kernel?), and we're rooted using the same process as the milestone, so hopefully the ability to overclock will be like the milestone, at least until/if the bootloader is hacked
     
  8. Elkay
    Offline

    Elkay Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    CT, USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's what I was counting on, too.

    And yeah.. Amazon MP3 was the second one to get the boot.
     
  9. keshavcharya
    Offline

    keshavcharya New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am just wondering if we do see some kernels or ROMS for this phone, how high our TI OMAP cpu will take us? Just for comparison, although it might not be a real representation when we do see a working setcpu, the original Motorola Droid's TI OMAP cpu OCs pretty well. from 550mhz to 1Ghz+. I am hoping for the same with the X's. I love ocing my pcs, and I can oc them to high levels, so this is just more fun for me ;).
     
  10. dB Zac
    Offline

    dB Zac Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have heard that the milestone overclocking method will work on the Droid X
     
  11. Elkay
    Offline

    Elkay Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    CT, USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    It "should", but we don't know (at least not for sure) the addresses necessary to change the required parameters. I reached out to the dev that got it working on the Milestone and D1, but haven't heard anything back.
     
  12. flipnduc
    Offline

    flipnduc Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    the stock kernel only allows it to hit 1k ghz.

    cant go beyond that till some develops another kernel.

    i dont see the need to go any faster though...its already fast....and faster you go results in a shorter battery life.

    I actually use setCPU to UNDERclock my processor when the display is off, and when my battery hits certain percentage of battery left....
     
  13. Elkay
    Offline

    Elkay Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    CT, USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not true. See Milestone.
     
  14. flipnduc
    Offline

    flipnduc Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0

    well as the DX stands now...my statement is valid.
     
  15. Elkay
    Offline

    Elkay Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    CT, USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    The kernel is not locked at 1Ghz. There are addresses that can be written to with a kernel module to set the frequency and voltage tables to higher values. We just don't know the addresses yet.
     
Similar Threads
  1. jimmiet
    Replies:
    20
    Views:
    3,369
  2. Jake Benson
    Replies:
    11
    Views:
    4,080
  3. ColdSteele
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    1,467
  4. DROOIID
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    1,514
  5. hacku
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    3,803
Loading...
Search tags for this page
droid x cpu overclock
,

droid x setcpu

,
how to overclock droid x with setcpu
,
is setcpu compatible with the droid x
,
overclock droid x with setcpu
,
set cpu droid x
,
set cpu on droid x
,

setcpu droid x

,
setcpu motorola droid x
,
setcpu overclock droid x