SetCPU not getting root access

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by phatneff, Jul 30, 2010.

  1. phatneff

    phatneff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    When opening up SetCPU, it tells me "No root access detected. Are applications allowed access to root? Operating in read-only mode."

    In Superuser Permissions, it says that SetCPU has superuser permissions with /system/bin/sh as root. What do I need to do to get it to work?
     
  2. mau5hunter

    mau5hunter Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try uninstalling setcpu and then wipe your cache and reinstall, for a simple attempt.
     
  3. phatneff

    phatneff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    That didn't work, either.
     
  4. dlwhtrose

    dlwhtrose DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,790
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    God forsaken desert, wishing to be back in Dixie
    Ratings:
    +1
    Have you tried a battery pull?? Sometimes that fixes issues. Also if you are using ROM Manager/Clockwork Mod I would suggest trying to fix permissions.
     
  5. phatneff

    phatneff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I fixed it. I was running UD 5.0.0. It was a known issue for all root access, so it was fixed with 5.0.1. I installed that and it's good to go.
     
  6. KennyBerndt

    KennyBerndt Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Colorado
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I just rooted a friends D1 the long way, using RSD. I know it worked because I also installed wireless tether and tested it to ensure it was working. I downloaded rom manager, and also the free oc kernal from CorCor67, 250-1050 LV. I downloaded setcpu from the market. I selected auto detect, and it didn't even ask me to allow superuser permission, it just gave me a notification saying it couldn't find super user permission. What the ????
     
  7. CJM

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,436
    Likes Received:
    601
    Trophy Points:
    228
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Ratings:
    +609
    Do you have a super user icon in the app drawer? If not, grab it from the market.

    Sent by the Unbrickable DROID
     
  8. KennyBerndt

    KennyBerndt Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Colorado
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yep. Its there.
     
  9. czerdrill

    czerdrill Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,825
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +12
    This happened to me with auto starts the other day...every other root app worked but that one told me I didn't have root access. Ended up having to reflash the ROM
     
  10. CJM

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,436
    Likes Received:
    601
    Trophy Points:
    228
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Ratings:
    +609
    Open super user and see if SetCPU is listed. See if clicking on it gives you options to allow root access. If not, you may need to reflash.

    Sent by the Unbrickable DROID
     
  11. KennyBerndt

    KennyBerndt Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Colorado
    Ratings:
    +0
    ^ fixed!

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
Search tags for this page
how to allow setcpu root access
,
root access not detected
,
root access not detected setcpu
,
set cpu root access not detected
,
setcpu could not obtain root access
,
setcpu no root
,
setcpu no root access
,
setcpu no root access detected
,

setcpu root access not detected

,
setcpu without root