SetCPU help please :)

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by nmoore125, Mar 16, 2010.

  1. nmoore125

    nmoore125 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Kearney, NE
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok when I woke up today I was running SG 5 and that was really it. I had my OC set to 950 along with some profiles. Today I see we have a new SG so I instantly had to have this. I went ahead and installed the SG 6, did the backup and wipe like I am supposed to. I then installed Helix Launcher. Everything work awesome!! But... When I reinstalled SetCPU and set it up I am not only allowed to choose 250,400,600,800 and 1100. What happened with this? Why cant I select 950 like i did in the past??

    Any help would much appreciated.. thanks for the time reading :)
     
  2. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    Same thing happened to me when I got setup CPU and I'm running Droidmod. It changed a d wouldn't le meeting select certain settings. Like I could no longer set up a 500 profile, either 400 or 600. Strange but it wasn't a big deal to me.
     
  3. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    I'm thinking that the previous kernel had 10 slots and the one you installed today is only 5 slots. Perhaps a quick visit to the SG site or to the site you downloaded the oC kernel will clarify.

    Mike
     
  4. Martin030908

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    Double check what kernel is included with SG. They may have changed the slots for the newest update.

    Also make sure you select auto-detect in SetCPU
     
  5. nmoore125

    nmoore125 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Kearney, NE
    Ratings:
    +0

    Ok you are probably right on the slots. Looks like is a kernel that really helps battery usage. So I am guessing that what its all about..

    Here is another question though. Without going and reading through 500 pages of stuff. Is 1100 stable? I will probably just use the 800 but was just curious if there are any success stories on the 1100??
     
  6. toddegreene

    toddegreene Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    The kernel choices that came with this ROM are all 5 slot kernels. Your choices for the 1100 are, 250,400,600,800,1100. You must reset all your Setcpu profiles. AdamZ, Dev of the SG ROMs, has a kernel pack where you can get back your old kernel. Just make sure they're ESE53 compatible. ChevyNo1 also has a variety of kernels to install.
     
  7. Martin030908

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    Some Droids can run stable at as high as 1.2ghz while others can't go higher than 1ghz. Just make a nandroid back up with SetCPU not enabled on boot for a fall back. Then you can try 1.1ghz. If you get boot loops or any other issue you can just restore your nandroid you made.
     
  8. nmoore125

    nmoore125 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Kearney, NE
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sounds like a good plan.. Ill probably just stay with the 800.. This new SG 6 with helix launcher is pretty damn snappy at 800.. Not sure why I even need to go higher haha.

    Thanks for the quick responses
     
  9. Martin030908

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    I run at 800 on all ROMs usually. Its plenty fast. You're welcome. Have fun!
     
  10. skidemn

    skidemn Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Southern California
    Ratings:
    +0
    How do you get odd SetCPU speeds?

    I rooted on Saturday with Droidmod and added SetCPU the same day. With autodetect on I only see 250, 600, 800, 1000, and 1200 as options. Where does everyone get those odd speed options?

    BTW- I ran at 1200 for a day before I set the CPU profiles for lower speeds, and aside from severe battery drain (lasts 4 hours or so) I had no issues at all. It ran so fast and smooth I was amazed, especially having had the phone since Droid Day, Nov 6th it was like a new and better version of this phone. The highest temp was 109F. Since then I have backed down to 1GHz and the battery lasts at least 7-10 hours depending on use, and it's still pretty snappy. I have seen the highest temp now at 111F, but only while updating 8 apps from the market consecutively.