SetCPU freezes phone!

Discussion in 'Droid Bionic Hacks' started by dannyxiii, Sep 15, 2011.

  1. dannyxiii

    dannyxiii Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4
    Hey guys,
    I was just wondering if anyone had the same problem as me. I just rooted my phone and installed SetCPU, after that I used profiles (screen off from 300MHz to 600MHz; scaling: OnDemand) and lowered the max to 800MHz; Scaling: OnDemand. I've been messing with the settings and the only way i can get the phone to not freeze is if i set it to the original settings with no profiles enabled.
    If anyone has a solution or anything it would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks for your time!
    =]
     
  2. johnd09

    johnd09 Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    You may have to wait till someone gets some different kernels for it. There may be to much going on with the phone for that low of frequencies.
    Could be a problem with SetCPU and dual cores too.
    Sent from a BAMF'd 'bolt using Droid Forums
     
  3. BL4Z3D247

    BL4Z3D247 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,251
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +25
    We're not going to get kernels with the bootloader locked.

    Hey OP, try upping the minimum until it doesn't freeze, u have to play the process of elimination game.
     
  4. dannyxiii

    dannyxiii Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4
    Thanks, ill post the stable settings I get, if any.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  5. BL4Z3D247

    BL4Z3D247 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,251
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +25
    Ok, I'm now rooted and have put setCPU on my DB. I am able to set up profiles to clockdown to any of the available speeds, ondemand with no freezes. Not sure why urs froze.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  6. jjbinks82

    jjbinks82 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I got freezes, stalls, lag and everything in between. After I froze with TB my phone went back to normal.

    Sent from my ROOTED DROID BIONC using DroidForums
     
  7. BL4Z3D247

    BL4Z3D247 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,251
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +25
    What version of setCPU are u using? I'm using 2.2.4 since that's what I had on my OG.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  8. syndicate0017

    syndicate0017 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    2,007
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +48
    I get the same sort of thing on my D1 sometimes. I'll notice my phone randomly not responding so I try and open SetCPU. Of course it takes a minute and my clock settings are frozen at 250.

    I have to enable and disable notifications to get my phone to respond to my profiles. SetCPU is then granted SU permissions and the phone will run normally for several hours.

    Rinse and Repeat.

    Sent from my CushZero using DroidForums
     
  9. dannyxiii

    dannyxiii Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4
    Hey guys sorry for the late response... college is kicking my...

    Any way so I got it to work, its a bit buggy but it seems a little more stable.

    Settings:
    300-800 Ghz (main)
    SetOnBoot (disabled)
    Scaling (on demand)
    Profiles (enabled)
    300-600 Ghz when screen off
    Scaling (on demand)

    I think you can play around with the speeds, but just make sure you do not use setonboot.

    To test to see if clock is set below 1000 I used cpu benchmark. If your not getting what you set your cpu at enable notifications and disable, then test.

    Hope this helps out. Ill post up any other issues I run into. ;)

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
Search tags for this page
android keeps crashing after installing setcpu
,
android stucks with setcpu
,
droid cpu tuner freezing display
,
phone hang after set cpu
,
setcpu anfroid hang
,
setcpu freeze
,
setcpu freeze screen off
,
setcpu freezes
,
setcpu freezes my android
,

setcpu freezes phone