SetCPU Developer Overclocks Motorola Xoom to 1.2Ghz, Hits 40 MFLOPS in Linpack

Discussion in 'Android News' started by DF Smod, Feb 26, 2011.

  1. DF Smod
    Offline

    DF Smod New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,477
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It’s amazing how quickly the developer community gets to work after a new flagship device is released, and the XOOM is clearly no exception. First, ClockworkMod developer Koush managed to get CWM up and running on the tablet 2 hours after he picked it up, and shortly after, he released root instructions.

    [​IMG]


    Now, SetCPU developer Michael Huang has pushed the Tegra 2 CPU in the XOOM up 20% to 1.2GHz. At that speed, it manages a score of 40.716 MFLOPS while still working perfectly. The caveat? Linpack is a single-core benchmark, meaning that one of the Tegra 2′s cores goes unused. (By comparison, my EVO on CM7 nightlies manages around 39 MFLOPS at 1.13GHz after caching.)


    [​IMG]


    It’s not really be a major surprise to hear that the Tegra 2 can hold its own, but things should really heat up once its competitors (the OMAP 4430 found in the LG Optimus 3D and the Exynos 4210 found in the Samsung Galaxy S II) come around.



    AndroidPolice
  2. jroc
    Offline

    jroc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,837
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Washington DC
    That was fast cuz SetCPU kept crashing for alot ppl with the Atrix or Xoom the past few days.
  3. jerroedr
    Offline

    jerroedr New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hows about a gb friendly update for setcpu?
  4. Bear in NM
    Offline

    Bear in NM Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,389
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    I declare Jerr, that was downright mean;)

    Craig
  5. kptphalkon
    Offline

    kptphalkon New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,380
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    As far as I know the tegra 2 is just a custom'd two core OMAP 36xx paired with an ultra low voltage geforce gpu.

    OMAP 44xx models should blow this out the water!

    Its great to hear that mobile platforms, when combining the potential of both cores, are almost scraping the underside of 100 MFLOPS!
  6. Hugh Jass
    Offline

    Hugh Jass Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,564
    Likes Received:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    48
    And we all know it'll do a lot more than 1.2ghz, I won't be surprised a bit to hear 1.5ghz before the weekend is over.
  7. moosez3
    Offline

    moosez3 New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Im not having any problems with SetCPU and PE 5.0.1
  8. Jaxidian
    Offline

    Jaxidian Team FreeMyMoto Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    556
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    Huh? Why do we all know this? I thought the Tegra 2 was based on a core similar to the OMAP36xx, which seems to cap out around there? Apparently I'm ignorant...
  9. Hugh Jass
    Offline

    Hugh Jass Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,564
    Likes Received:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    48


    The Tegra2 is built on the ARM Cortex A9, the Tegra 250 3D is built on the exact same chip and architecture just with an upgraded GPU and runs 1.2ghz STOCK. The Droid was built on the Cortex A8, and from ARM's website, the specifications for the chip are: "Frequency from 600MHz to 1GHz and above"...and what was the droid shipped with? 550Mhz, severely under clocked by specs yet safe to overclock to even 1.3ghz, more than twice it's shipped clock. Manufactures of handsets never push chips to their limits because it's generally considered that it severely degrades overall life and reliability of the chip and reduces battery life, therefor it's safe to assume 1.5ghz will come without issue as it's only 0.3ghz increase over STOCK for the Tegra 250 3D.

    The potential clocks this chip is capable of is outstanding.
  10. patfactorx
    Offline

    patfactorx New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ima bigger fan of TI's chips
  11. Jaxidian
    Offline

    Jaxidian Team FreeMyMoto Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    556
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    But most (not all) 36xx chips in DX/D2 that are at 1ghz stock max out at 1.15ghz. If Tegra 2 chips are the same architecture but with the additional complexity of the dual core management, then I'd say your assumptions about their overclockability is certainly not something that should be assumed. Hoped for, sure. Assumed, no way!

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App

    Why? Just curious. :)

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 28, 2011
  12. dfuser312553
    Offline

    dfuser312553 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,084
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I thought setcpu might be dead. Glad to see the 2.1a update!
  13. jerroedr
    Offline

    jerroedr New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i dont even have it running...there was an update?
  14. dfuser312553
    Offline

    dfuser312553 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,084
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yep GB support, dual core, CM fix, etc
  15. jerroedr
    Offline

    jerroedr New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    woo! awesome news! thanks!
  16. kptphalkon
    Offline

    kptphalkon New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,380
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I made an oopsie, and was wrong. All these mobile platforms use ARM's core architecture license to make all their chips...

    The snapdragon, hummingbird, omap, and tegra line are all derived from ARMs proprietary research and development. Bleh what a mistake, and on that note google cortex A15 :)
  17. sb1831
    Offline

    sb1831 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No need to overclock it IMO but hey people will do it if they can...
  18. Jaxidian
    Offline

    Jaxidian Team FreeMyMoto Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    556
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    All previous debates I participated in have been null and void. Thanks for the clarification. :)
  19. Hugh Jass
    Offline

    Hugh Jass Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,564
    Likes Received:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    48
  20. jroc
    Offline

    jroc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,837
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Washington DC
    ^Ok, I need some lottery numbers from you now...cuz you called it to the tee.

    Lets put that ability to good use!!!
Search tags for this page

motorola atrix 2 cpu overclock

,

setcpu for tegra 2

,

setspu tregra

,

tegra overclock xoom

,

xoom cpu overclock ics