Setcpu and 2.2

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by siggy_freud, Jul 12, 2010.

  1. siggy_freud

    siggy_freud Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I installed 2.2 and downloaded the latest version of SetCPU, but the max MHZ my slider will allow is 600. I have it set to autodetect as well.

    Any thoughts?
     
  2. tktouch12

    tktouch12 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    do you have a custom kernel?
     
  3. siggy_freud

    siggy_freud Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    No, used to but outside of downloading 2.2 and installing it through Sprecovery, I haven't done anything. It's been awhile since I did the custom 2.0 ROM stuff, so perhaps I forgot a step in truly hacking this thing lol.
     
  4. dlwhtrose

    dlwhtrose DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,801
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    God forsaken desert, wishing to be back in Dixie
    Ratings:
    +12
    I suspect the stock kernel that you are using maxes out at 600 and that is why you cannot go any higher. If you are wanting more then you will have to load a custom kernel.
     
  5. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    I recommend taking a good look at P3's kernels at mdw. I've been using low voltage 125/1100 and it works great for me overclocking to 1ghz.
     
  6. siggy_freud

    siggy_freud Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Installing a custom kernell will essentially re-wipe my phone correct?
     
  7. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,260
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Ratings:
    +17
    Not at all...It just replaces the Kernal
     
  8. meishkov

    meishkov Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    957
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sterling Heights, MI
    Ratings:
    +2
    Not true. Installing a custom overclocking kernel does not affect any of your saved data or anything on your SD card. It just changes some internal software that tells your phone to run at a certain frequency.
     
  9. jawa6969

    jawa6969 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Ratings:
    +0
    What is the difference between 125mhz vs. 250mhz?
     
  10. Raven1r44

    Raven1r44 Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    So-Cal!!!
    Ratings:
    +0
     
  11. Abe21599

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +31
    some phones have trouble waking from 125
     
  12. siggy_freud

    siggy_freud Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Got it set up. Thanks :).