1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Setcpu and 2.2

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by siggy_freud, Jul 12, 2010.

  1. siggy_freud
    Offline

    siggy_freud New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So I installed 2.2 and downloaded the latest version of SetCPU, but the max MHZ my slider will allow is 600. I have it set to autodetect as well.

    Any thoughts?
  2. tktouch12
    Offline

    tktouch12 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    do you have a custom kernel?
  3. siggy_freud
    Offline

    siggy_freud New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No, used to but outside of downloading 2.2 and installing it through Sprecovery, I haven't done anything. It's been awhile since I did the custom 2.0 ROM stuff, so perhaps I forgot a step in truly hacking this thing lol.
  4. dlwhtrose
    Offline

    dlwhtrose DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,790
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    God forsaken desert, wishing to be back in Dixie
    I suspect the stock kernel that you are using maxes out at 600 and that is why you cannot go any higher. If you are wanting more then you will have to load a custom kernel.
  5. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    I recommend taking a good look at P3's kernels at mdw. I've been using low voltage 125/1100 and it works great for me overclocking to 1ghz.
  6. siggy_freud
    Offline

    siggy_freud New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Installing a custom kernell will essentially re-wipe my phone correct?
  7. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not at all...It just replaces the Kernal
  8. meishkov
    Offline

    meishkov New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    957
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sterling Heights, MI
    Not true. Installing a custom overclocking kernel does not affect any of your saved data or anything on your SD card. It just changes some internal software that tells your phone to run at a certain frequency.
  9. jawa6969
    Offline

    jawa6969 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    What is the difference between 125mhz vs. 250mhz?
  10. Raven1r44
    Offline

    Raven1r44 New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So-Cal!!!
  11. Abe21599
    Offline

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,345
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    some phones have trouble waking from 125
  12. siggy_freud
    Offline

    siggy_freud New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Got it set up. Thanks :).
  13. jawa6969
    Offline

    jawa6969 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Thanks! :) What do the Chevy kernels run at if I may ask?
  14. Bear in NM
    Offline

    Bear in NM Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,389
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Each of the kernel "makers" generally have a range of top end speeds, with 5 to 7 slots below. And, they usually have low voltage, medium voltage and/or stock/high. It is generally accepted to check the OP of the rom you are using to see which maker is the best choice. Once you choose a maker, then you have to decide on voltage. WORDS OF WARNING, you can get stuck at boot if the voltage is not right for your phone, or if the top speed is too fast for your phone. You can also get forces closes and other problems if things do not work well for YOUR phone.

    If you do not perform a nandroid (CW or SP) recovery before try a new kernel, you are asking for trouble. There are no definatives here, as each phone will behave differently as each and every CPU will be slightly unique. I guess I should correct myself as one fairly constant feature is the stock droid running at 550 or 600 has some room to go up. Most of the Rom makers will include a 600, or 800 as these have been proven to run fine on most phones. Occasionally you will see a rom come with a 1000, but I think most have backed off this.

    And, you will either need the Setcpu app or a rom script to take advantage of higher speeds. Your best bet is to read through the op and all threads of the rom you are running, however painful it may be, to see what the folks running that rom have to say.

    Craig