Setcpu and 2.2

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by siggy_freud, Jul 12, 2010.

  1. siggy_freud

    siggy_freud Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I installed 2.2 and downloaded the latest version of SetCPU, but the max MHZ my slider will allow is 600. I have it set to autodetect as well.

    Any thoughts?
     
  2. tktouch12

    tktouch12 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    do you have a custom kernel?
     
  3. siggy_freud

    siggy_freud Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    No, used to but outside of downloading 2.2 and installing it through Sprecovery, I haven't done anything. It's been awhile since I did the custom 2.0 ROM stuff, so perhaps I forgot a step in truly hacking this thing lol.
     
  4. dlwhtrose

    dlwhtrose DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,790
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    God forsaken desert, wishing to be back in Dixie
    Ratings:
    +1
    I suspect the stock kernel that you are using maxes out at 600 and that is why you cannot go any higher. If you are wanting more then you will have to load a custom kernel.
     
  5. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    I recommend taking a good look at P3's kernels at mdw. I've been using low voltage 125/1100 and it works great for me overclocking to 1ghz.
     
  6. siggy_freud

    siggy_freud Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Installing a custom kernell will essentially re-wipe my phone correct?
     
  7. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,250
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +6
    Not at all...It just replaces the Kernal
     
  8. meishkov

    meishkov Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    957
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sterling Heights, MI
    Ratings:
    +2
    Not true. Installing a custom overclocking kernel does not affect any of your saved data or anything on your SD card. It just changes some internal software that tells your phone to run at a certain frequency.
     
  9. jawa6969

    jawa6969 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Ratings:
    +0
    What is the difference between 125mhz vs. 250mhz?
     
  10. Raven1r44

    Raven1r44 Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    So-Cal!!!
    Ratings:
    +0
     
  11. Abe21599

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +30
    some phones have trouble waking from 125
     
  12. siggy_freud

    siggy_freud Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Got it set up. Thanks :).
     
  13. jawa6969

    jawa6969 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks! :) What do the Chevy kernels run at if I may ask?
     
  14. Bear in NM

    Bear in NM Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,389
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +1
    Each of the kernel "makers" generally have a range of top end speeds, with 5 to 7 slots below. And, they usually have low voltage, medium voltage and/or stock/high. It is generally accepted to check the OP of the rom you are using to see which maker is the best choice. Once you choose a maker, then you have to decide on voltage. WORDS OF WARNING, you can get stuck at boot if the voltage is not right for your phone, or if the top speed is too fast for your phone. You can also get forces closes and other problems if things do not work well for YOUR phone.

    If you do not perform a nandroid (CW or SP) recovery before try a new kernel, you are asking for trouble. There are no definatives here, as each phone will behave differently as each and every CPU will be slightly unique. I guess I should correct myself as one fairly constant feature is the stock droid running at 550 or 600 has some room to go up. Most of the Rom makers will include a 600, or 800 as these have been proven to run fine on most phones. Occasionally you will see a rom come with a 1000, but I think most have backed off this.

    And, you will either need the Setcpu app or a rom script to take advantage of higher speeds. Your best bet is to read through the op and all threads of the rom you are running, however painful it may be, to see what the folks running that rom have to say.

    Craig