Set Default Browser to Desktop Mode

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by Zael, Aug 5, 2010.

  1. Zael
    Offline

    Zael New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey Guys & Gals,

    I know this has been posted before, but I couldn't find it in the search. Is there anyway to set the default browser to render pages as full desktop pages instead of rendering their mobile versions? I am running with .604.


    Thanks
  2. armedmonkey
    Offline

    armedmonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No. it's a server setting. Well if you could find a browser that lets you change your agent string maybe

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
  3. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Unfortunately that appears to be correct. I've never found a setting for it.
  4. aminaked
    Offline

    aminaked New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California, USA
    In the default browser, type about:config in the address bar. Then, go to settings and you'll be able to change the UAstring. It may be about:debug actually.

    Unfortunately, the browser doesn't maintain this setting the next time you open it up. For that reason and because it doesn't have tabs, I don't use the stock browser. I really like dolphin hd. Another one to try is xscope.
  5. phatkat66
    Offline

    phatkat66 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0

    It is about:debug and also.... OOOOOOOOOOOOO that would explain after I close the damn browser it would go back to mobile sites after I changed that setting.... Stupid browser. I started using Dolphin HD yesterday and I love it! Its awesome and very smooth. Shoulda switched over long ago.
  6. jcstarr
    Offline

    jcstarr New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    xScope is also pretty great and lets you change the UAString on the fly.
  7. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    type About:debug in the address bar and hit enter (you won't see anything happen)

    go to Menu > Settings > scroll down to UAString and select Desktop.
  8. droiddadi
    Offline

    droiddadi New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Custom roms CM6 and UD have that option in browser settings
  9. sleeplessninja
    Offline

    sleeplessninja New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Video Tutorial

    Hello Everyone,

    If anyone is having trouble following these instructions, here is a video tutorial that goes over how to set your Xoom Browser to Desktop Mode



    Cheers!
  10. PhotoMaster
    Offline

    PhotoMaster New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    This works beautifully. (about:debug gives debug menu without useragent on mine)
    Type "about:useragent" (without the quotes) and touch Go button.
    The list of options I get are:

    Galaxy S
    Iphone
    Desktop
    Lismore
    Nexus One
    Custom

    I think it does reset when restarted, though.
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2012
Search tags for this page

android browser desktop mode

,
android browser desktop mode default
,
android browser mode
,
android default browser desktop mode
,
android desktop browser mode
,
android desktop mode
,
android set browser to desktop
,
desktop mode on android
,
how to change android browser to desktop mode
,
how to set android browser to desktop
,
set android browser to desktop
,
set android browser to desktop mode