Set CPU

Discussion in 'Galaxy Nexus Development' started by kodiak799, Dec 21, 2011.

  1. 1quickv6

    1quickv6 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I made a charging profile that is 1200 max and 350 min. Just so I can keep everything running smooth in case I want to multitask like listening to music or watch a video while I'm plugged in. Whether or not I need it? Not sure.
     
  2. mmead1143

    mmead1143 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    ^^
    If that's also your default settings, you wouldn't need to make a profile for just that...right? You only need to make profiles for different settings. I'm new to SetCpu so let me know.
     
  3. 1quickv6

    1quickv6 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's probably true. But I would imagine that the ability to make a charging profile in the first place will allow you to override the phone wanting to use less power so it will run at a lower power level to run mundane tasks unless you tell it to do otherwise?
     
  4. otter34

    otter34 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    660
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Temp was one I use with droid. Not sure what toset this one to

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
     
  5. kodiak799

    kodiak799 Gold Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    5,745
    Likes Received:
    640
    Trophy Points:
    228
    Ratings:
    +772
    Theoretically if you aren't overclocking there's no need to set a temp profile. Even if you are tethered (while charging, obviously) it might get pretty warm but it's nothing not supposedly designed for (unlike the D1 which wasn't really designed for tether).

    What's interesting is I've never noticed an issue with the underclocking and I can't understand why Google hasn't made it stock Android. I believe even Moto has it wit their "Smart" features on the RAZR. With all the complaints about battery life, underclocking is a necessity.
     
  6. idiotekniQues

    idiotekniQues Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    unlocked and rooted. installed setcpu. ran it on powersaver and my rezound got very sluggish.

    back on OnDemand and much better.

    anybody have some setcpu tips?
     
  7. jessemhess

    jessemhess Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Alabama
    Ratings:
    +0
    I keep mine on ondemand. Screen off: set high end to about 800.

    Sent from my Rezound using Tapatalk
     
  8. rubiksc00p

    rubiksc00p Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,382
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Somewhere on this amazing ball of creation!
    Ratings:
    +30
    Yeah... pwrsave would keep it way to low! ;)

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk
     
  9. idiotekniQues

    idiotekniQues Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    it's called powersave, they should rename it to 'cripple your phone' mode!
     
  10. Jawbone

    Jawbone Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    I am also new to setCPU. Everyone so far in this thread has talked about setting the minimum to 350. My question is, what was it stock. Does it always run at 1200? Sorry for the noob question
     
  11. cebosound

    cebosound Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am new to this app also. I havent found any great info on the settings yet. I am wondering what I can do with the VOL TAG to allow better battery. ?
     
  12. sbenson

    sbenson Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2,370
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Virginia/DC Metro Area
    Ratings:
    +61
    Yes, stock, the minimum is 350 and the maximum is 1200. Most custom kernels are the same by default. A lot of kernels also let you go up to 1350 - safely.

    When set to interactive, the kernel will only run at 1200 when needed. When you're doing less cpu-intensive tasks the kernel may run at 920, 700 or all the way down to 350. It just depends on what you're doing. If you set a profile of 350min and 350max while the screen is off, this will keep the phone running at 350 and conserve battery. As soon as you unlock the screen, the cpu will ramp up to 1200, then adjust accordingly based on what you're doing. If you open SetCPU, click info, then click Time in State, you can see how long your cpu runs at each frequency.

    The Voltages tab should be used with extreme caution. Each phone has a slightly different cpu so the process of finding the "perfect" voltage for your phone is a trial and error process.

    Some simple guidelines to get you started tweaking your voltages. When you open SetCPU and click on the Voltages tab, you'll notice the stock mV for each frequency. I suggest you tweak these one at a time. Start with 1200MHz. Lower the voltage by 50mV. Use your phone for a while, if it doesn't stutter, crash and reboot, lower it another 50mV. Continue this until your phone can't handle it. Once you find the lowest voltage your phone is stable at, set it and then move on to 920MHz and repeat the process all the way down to 350MHz.

    Sampling voltages in this manner allows you to pinpoint the voltages your phone will be stable at. If you just arbitrarily change your voltages and you have a crash, you'll never know what made your phone unstable in the beginning...
     
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2012
Search tags for this page
best setcpu settings for galaxy s3
,
default cpu settings gnex
,

galaxy nexus setcpu

,
galaxy s3 setcpu settings
,
how to use setcpu galaxy s3
,
set governor when screen is off tweak
,
setcpu best setup for s3
,
setcpu galaxy s3 settings
,
setcpu profiles galaxy s3
,
setcpu sgs3 recommendations