Set CPU

Discussion in 'Galaxy Nexus Development' started by kodiak799, Dec 21, 2011.

  1. kodiak799
    Offline

    kodiak799 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,961
    Likes Received:
    283
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Ratings:
    +293
    So I rooted, but waiting to see some reviews on roms before I go that route (if at all). My main reason for flashing a rom would be for the kernel, and perhaps some other minor tweaks/hacks.

    Anyway, I fired up CPU and set the underclock to the minimum of 350mhz. Set it to interactive, and BOOM! significant instant boost to battery life.

    Seems to be working, but was curious if anyone has other feedback.
     
  2. cruckus
    Offline

    cruckus Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    That till always give you a boost its severely underclocked to levels that of which of the iPhone! Haha jk but I that is a drastic amount I usually leave mine at about 700 MHz when I'm not going to be using to save battery
     
  3. BL4Z3D247
    Offline

    BL4Z3D247 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,251
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +25
    I have mine set to 350mhz(min) 1.35ghz(max) with a screen off profile of 350mhz/350mhz. Battery life is insane and phone always wakes up in a snappy manner.
     
  4. BenLand150
    Offline

    BenLand150 Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,791
    Likes Received:
    82
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Lincoln, NE
    Ratings:
    +82
    Tbh, I don't get setCPU at all anyone mind telling me how to use it and the settings they put it on? I'm on the apex kernal currently.

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
     
  5. bigeric828
    Offline

    bigeric828 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Ya having a screen off profile set at 350/350 is awesome. has done amazing work to my battery and it still is snappy coming out of sleep. LOVE IT!

    to benland: its very simple. Make sure you have root. When you first boot it up, a msg will pop up, click the "auto detect" button and then allow superuser. Then on the main screen, set what you want the max and min frequencies to be and then click set on boot. After that, feel free to set up profiles. The only profile i have set up currently is: Screen off. 350/350. priority:100.
     
  6. kodiak799
    Offline

    kodiak799 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,961
    Likes Received:
    283
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Ratings:
    +293
    I must have missed something or not been paying close attention. I thought 350 was the min setting, which I assume is setting both CPU's at 350. Agreed no issues coming out of sleep (or receiving notifications/data while in sleep). Now if you take advantage of the 1gig ram and load it up with a bunch of apps running services, I could see that becoming an issue.

    Now that I think about it, I just selected 350 as the min. I have no "sleep" profile so, in theory, my phone can rev-up to 1200 in sleep if need be (but generally in sleep it should be running at 350). So I'm probably not getting full advantage of the potential battery savings.
     
  7. BenLand150
    Offline

    BenLand150 Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,791
    Likes Received:
    82
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Lincoln, NE
    Ratings:
    +82
    Thanks! Using same settings right now, is helping a lot! Are you set on interactive?

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
     
  8. kodiak799
    Offline

    kodiak799 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,961
    Likes Received:
    283
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Ratings:
    +293
    I'm on interactive (just because it's the default, and on the OG Droid most developers had that as the default governor on their rom). But I really have no clue what the differences are between interactive, on demand, etc...
     
  9. patmw123
    Offline

    patmw123 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,678
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +33
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    In my experiences, on all of my android devices, the interactive governor runs substantially more hot than the on demand governor.
     
  10. Byakushiki
    Offline

    Byakushiki Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    859
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Usea
    Ratings:
    +3
    That's because the moment it wakes up, the governor "fires" in a sense. Wake up the phone and it immediately jumps to near max clock speed. It's for those who like the phone to run smoother.
     
  11. jaycemiskel
    Offline

    jaycemiskel Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,359
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +2
    Yeah I believe on demand takes more time to get up to the max clock speed. Interactive usually ran smoother for me.

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk
     
  12. c.r.ayala
    Offline

    c.r.ayala Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    besides the screen off profiles what other do u guess have?? just out of curiosity! lol
     
  13. 1quickv6
    Offline

    1quickv6 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I made a charging profile that is 1200 max and 350 min. Just so I can keep everything running smooth in case I want to multitask like listening to music or watch a video while I'm plugged in. Whether or not I need it? Not sure.
     
  14. mmead1143
    Offline

    mmead1143 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    ^^
    If that's also your default settings, you wouldn't need to make a profile for just that...right? You only need to make profiles for different settings. I'm new to SetCpu so let me know.
     
  15. 1quickv6
    Offline

    1quickv6 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's probably true. But I would imagine that the ability to make a charging profile in the first place will allow you to override the phone wanting to use less power so it will run at a lower power level to run mundane tasks unless you tell it to do otherwise?
     
Search tags for this page
best cpu setting for samsung galaxy nexus
,
best setcpu settings for galaxy s3
,
default cpu settings gnex
,

galaxy nexus setcpu

,
galaxy s3 setcpu settings
,
how to set cpu for galaxy nexus
,
how to use setcpu galaxy s3
,
setcpu best setup for s3
,
setcpu galaxy s3 settings
,
setcpu profiles galaxy s3