Set CPU

Discussion in 'Galaxy Nexus Development' started by kodiak799, Dec 21, 2011.

  1. kodiak799
    Online

    kodiak799 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,801
    Likes Received:
    218
    Trophy Points:
    63
    So I rooted, but waiting to see some reviews on roms before I go that route (if at all). My main reason for flashing a rom would be for the kernel, and perhaps some other minor tweaks/hacks.

    Anyway, I fired up CPU and set the underclock to the minimum of 350mhz. Set it to interactive, and BOOM! significant instant boost to battery life.

    Seems to be working, but was curious if anyone has other feedback.
  2. cruckus
    Offline

    cruckus New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That till always give you a boost its severely underclocked to levels that of which of the iPhone! Haha jk but I that is a drastic amount I usually leave mine at about 700 MHz when I'm not going to be using to save battery
  3. BL4Z3D247
    Offline

    BL4Z3D247 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,251
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have mine set to 350mhz(min) 1.35ghz(max) with a screen off profile of 350mhz/350mhz. Battery life is insane and phone always wakes up in a snappy manner.
  4. BenLand150
    Offline

    BenLand150 Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,775
    Likes Received:
    69
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Lincoln, NE
    Tbh, I don't get setCPU at all anyone mind telling me how to use it and the settings they put it on? I'm on the apex kernal currently.

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
  5. bigeric828
    Offline

    bigeric828 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    510
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ya having a screen off profile set at 350/350 is awesome. has done amazing work to my battery and it still is snappy coming out of sleep. LOVE IT!

    to benland: its very simple. Make sure you have root. When you first boot it up, a msg will pop up, click the "auto detect" button and then allow superuser. Then on the main screen, set what you want the max and min frequencies to be and then click set on boot. After that, feel free to set up profiles. The only profile i have set up currently is: Screen off. 350/350. priority:100.
  6. kodiak799
    Online

    kodiak799 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,801
    Likes Received:
    218
    Trophy Points:
    63
    I must have missed something or not been paying close attention. I thought 350 was the min setting, which I assume is setting both CPU's at 350. Agreed no issues coming out of sleep (or receiving notifications/data while in sleep). Now if you take advantage of the 1gig ram and load it up with a bunch of apps running services, I could see that becoming an issue.

    Now that I think about it, I just selected 350 as the min. I have no "sleep" profile so, in theory, my phone can rev-up to 1200 in sleep if need be (but generally in sleep it should be running at 350). So I'm probably not getting full advantage of the potential battery savings.
  7. BenLand150
    Offline

    BenLand150 Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,775
    Likes Received:
    69
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Lincoln, NE
    Thanks! Using same settings right now, is helping a lot! Are you set on interactive?

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
  8. kodiak799
    Online

    kodiak799 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,801
    Likes Received:
    218
    Trophy Points:
    63
    I'm on interactive (just because it's the default, and on the OG Droid most developers had that as the default governor on their rom). But I really have no clue what the differences are between interactive, on demand, etc...
  9. patmw123
    Offline

    patmw123 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,663
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    In my experiences, on all of my android devices, the interactive governor runs substantially more hot than the on demand governor.
  10. Byakushiki
    Offline

    Byakushiki New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    861
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Usea
    That's because the moment it wakes up, the governor "fires" in a sense. Wake up the phone and it immediately jumps to near max clock speed. It's for those who like the phone to run smoother.
  11. jaycemiskel
    Offline

    jaycemiskel New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,362
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah I believe on demand takes more time to get up to the max clock speed. Interactive usually ran smoother for me.

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk
  12. c.r.ayala
    Offline

    c.r.ayala New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    besides the screen off profiles what other do u guess have?? just out of curiosity! lol
  13. 1quickv6
    Offline

    1quickv6 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I made a charging profile that is 1200 max and 350 min. Just so I can keep everything running smooth in case I want to multitask like listening to music or watch a video while I'm plugged in. Whether or not I need it? Not sure.
  14. mmead1143
    Offline

    mmead1143 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ^^
    If that's also your default settings, you wouldn't need to make a profile for just that...right? You only need to make profiles for different settings. I'm new to SetCpu so let me know.
  15. 1quickv6
    Offline

    1quickv6 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That's probably true. But I would imagine that the ability to make a charging profile in the first place will allow you to override the phone wanting to use less power so it will run at a lower power level to run mundane tasks unless you tell it to do otherwise?
  16. otter34
    Offline

    otter34 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    660
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Temp was one I use with droid. Not sure what toset this one to

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
  17. kodiak799
    Online

    kodiak799 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,801
    Likes Received:
    218
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Theoretically if you aren't overclocking there's no need to set a temp profile. Even if you are tethered (while charging, obviously) it might get pretty warm but it's nothing not supposedly designed for (unlike the D1 which wasn't really designed for tether).

    What's interesting is I've never noticed an issue with the underclocking and I can't understand why Google hasn't made it stock Android. I believe even Moto has it wit their "Smart" features on the RAZR. With all the complaints about battery life, underclocking is a necessity.
  18. Jawbone
    Offline

    Jawbone New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am also new to setCPU. Everyone so far in this thread has talked about setting the minimum to 350. My question is, what was it stock. Does it always run at 1200? Sorry for the noob question
  19. cebosound
    Offline

    cebosound New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am new to this app also. I havent found any great info on the settings yet. I am wondering what I can do with the VOL TAG to allow better battery. ?
  20. sbenson
    Offline

    sbenson New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2,370
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia/DC Metro Area
    Yes, stock, the minimum is 350 and the maximum is 1200. Most custom kernels are the same by default. A lot of kernels also let you go up to 1350 - safely.

    When set to interactive, the kernel will only run at 1200 when needed. When you're doing less cpu-intensive tasks the kernel may run at 920, 700 or all the way down to 350. It just depends on what you're doing. If you set a profile of 350min and 350max while the screen is off, this will keep the phone running at 350 and conserve battery. As soon as you unlock the screen, the cpu will ramp up to 1200, then adjust accordingly based on what you're doing. If you open SetCPU, click info, then click Time in State, you can see how long your cpu runs at each frequency.

    The Voltages tab should be used with extreme caution. Each phone has a slightly different cpu so the process of finding the "perfect" voltage for your phone is a trial and error process.

    Some simple guidelines to get you started tweaking your voltages. When you open SetCPU and click on the Voltages tab, you'll notice the stock mV for each frequency. I suggest you tweak these one at a time. Start with 1200MHz. Lower the voltage by 50mV. Use your phone for a while, if it doesn't stutter, crash and reboot, lower it another 50mV. Continue this until your phone can't handle it. Once you find the lowest voltage your phone is stable at, set it and then move on to 920MHz and repeat the process all the way down to 350MHz.

    Sampling voltages in this manner allows you to pinpoint the voltages your phone will be stable at. If you just arbitrarily change your voltages and you have a crash, you'll never know what made your phone unstable in the beginning...
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2012
Search tags for this page
best cpu setting for samsung galaxy nexus
,
best setcpu settings for galaxy s3
,
default cpu settings gnex
,

galaxy nexus setcpu

,
galaxy s3 cpu settings
,
galaxy s3 set cpu
,
galaxy s3 setcpu settings
,
how to set cpu for galaxy nexus
,
how to use setcpu galaxy s3
,
set cpu for galaxy s3
,
set governor when screen is off tweak
,
setcpu best setup for s3
,
setcpu galaxy s3 settings
,
setcpu profiles galaxy s3
,
setcpu sgs3 recommendations