set cpu set to 600 min save your battery?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Development' started by evilsock, Aug 30, 2010.

?

did setting your set cpu min to 600 help your battery life?

  1. yes it did

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. no it didnt

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. cant tell

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  4. bacon

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. evilsock

    evilsock Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    617
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    knox county TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    i saw someone post it and tried it, and .....wow. i have a spare battery and charger, (from d1 thank got its same battery ,lol)so i never really care about the battery , but it made it almost a full day and a half with heavy use, im talking i played a 4 and a half hour tournament on UB.net tethered to d2. while listening to the music player. screen was off, but only barely touched batt life. im just now about to swap batteries.

    so try it before u answer the poll please.
     
  2. ljbaumer

    ljbaumer Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Unicorn Land
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just installed set cpu and it is set to 300 min and 1000 max by default so going to 600 min should loose battery right?
     
  3. cromo8

    cromo8 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    516
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    that would make it worse yes
     
  4. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    I do like bacon.

    When I was rooted running at 1ghz it appears that there may be a very slight difference in battery use. Wouldn't that show up under either Android OS or Android System? I think if you notice increased use in those two you would probably be able to tell.

    But then again my theory is to have spare batteries or a charger near by so you don't have to worry about that. Weird concept but it works.
     
  5. DF Smod

    DF Smod Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,457
    Likes Received:
    92
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +92
    Let's try to keep this thread on topic :D
     
  6. evilsock

    evilsock Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    617
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    knox county TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    think about it, upping the min just makes it active when its not in sleep , u can change sleep profile back to 300. but im not sure how but it worked on mine, for sure.
    maybe it makes it faster and more efficant and that saves battery
     
  7. Quie2Droid

    Quie2Droid Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Ratings:
    +0
    So, you are saying to raise the minimum setting on your processor speed from 300 to 600 and that will save battery life? That makes no sense what so ever. Usually the lower the speed when your phone is sleeping the better battery life you get.
     
  8. mountaineerndixie

    mountaineerndixie Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Charleston, WV
    Ratings:
    +2
    I guess the theory is that energy is saved by less of a fluctuation, regardless of speed...to a point.

    I'll try almost anything once. Not a huge move but Im gonna go from 1000/250 to 800/550 and give it a shot. Personally though the JD data off widget has more than doubled my battery life the last week.

    Sorry for going a bit OT, t.........

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  9. evilsock

    evilsock Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    617
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    knox county TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    makes sence or not but it works, its not gonna hurt anything to try
     
  10. cdipier2

    cdipier2 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NJ
    Ratings:
    +0
    i just set mine to 600. i will let you know how it works tomorrow
     
  11. Jim 777

    Jim 777 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,270
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +2
    I love my phone sure. Don't know how I got along without.



    But bacon!?!?! Why good!
     
  12. Quie2Droid

    Quie2Droid Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh, I will def try it. Just think from what I have used on my rooted Droid 1, this is all backwards. But, you never know.
     
  13. cdipier2

    cdipier2 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NJ
    Ratings:
    +0
    its been 15 hours and 34 minutes since i took my d2 off charge this morning and right now my battery is at 30 percent. i used my phone alot more today then i normally do and the battery is usually the same at this point. so life did increase a little bit and the phone seems a little quicker as well
     
Search tags for this page
cpu master battery save
,
cpuset settings for galaxy s4
,
does cpu master saves battery life
,

how can we set to save battery in cpuset

,
how to save battery using set cpu
,
setcpu 300 min
,
setcpu settings to save battery