Serious Problems With Droid 1

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by roboman342, Mar 25, 2011.

  1. roboman342

    roboman342 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Germantown, WI
    Ratings:
    +0
    I cannot take this thing anymore. When I first bought it I loved it, thought it was the coolest phone ever. Now all it does is freeze up or be generally useless.

    Its slow, it CONSTANTLY redraws the homescreen, unable to play live wallpapers, apps take forever to load, etc, etc, etc...
    I rooted it and attempted to over-clock it using SetCPU but honestly I dont think it did anything.

    Now Android sent out a new Update so ofc I cant update b.c my phone is rooted. Bottom line is I want my phone running at 1ghz, I do NOT want to see another damn homescreen redraw ever, and I want the latest or closest thing I can get to the most recent and best Android version. (ie closest thing to 2.3~3.0) I would like someone to help me make my love my droid again because honestly Im thinking of going to iPhone. At least I know their garbage works. (for example where is NETFLIX on my droid?

    Model Number:
    Droid
    Android Version:
    2.2.1
    Kernel version:
    2.6.32.9-g68eeef5
    android-build@apa26 #1
    Build Number:
    FRG38D
     
  2. titans

    titans Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,662
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    Install a Gingerbread rom if you want but froyo roms are more smooth all around...check the custom roms section.
     
  3. roboman342

    roboman342 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Germantown, WI
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry but this doesn't help me. I'm sick of having to learn a thousand different things to have to enjoy my phone. Treat me like a noob. :(
     
  4. titans

    titans Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,662
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did you flash SPRecovery or Clockwork recovery? Or did you just root and overclock
     
  5. roboman342

    roboman342 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Germantown, WI
    Ratings:
    +0
    I flashed using SPRecovery.

    I just rebooted my phone in recovery or whatever its called by holding "X"

    Android System recovery
    Patched by SirPsychoS (0.99.3b)

    Is what it says if any of that is relevant.

    Forgive my ignorance in the droid science.
     
  6. titans

    titans Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,662
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    No problem...did you want to keep a stock froyo rom on your phone or try out a custom froyo/gingerbread rom?
     
  7. roboman342

    roboman342 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Germantown, WI
    Ratings:
    +0
    a custom gingerbread rom that allows overclocking if possible. I just dont ever want to see those damn homescreen redraws again.
     
  8. titans

    titans Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,662
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just to let you know, Gingerbread wasn't exactly built for the Droid, you'd probably see much less redraws on a Froyo rom...is Froyo ok or did you want to go all in?
     
  9. roboman342

    roboman342 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Germantown, WI
    Ratings:
    +0
    Whats the risk of going all in... I should probably just stick with something stable and reliable.
     
  10. titans

    titans Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,662
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    Alright, most of the developers in the custom rom section have froyo versions of their rom. Pick one you'd like.
     
  11. samiusmc

    samiusmc Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    754
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Not true about the redraws. Chevy's SS 5.2 just came out. I've been running it for 6 hours and not one redraw. I've even tried to force it to redraw but it won't.

    OP, try Chevy's ROM. Just make sure you wipe your data and cache first. It will make your phone fly and it overclocks automatically.
     
  12. titans

    titans Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,662
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hm interesting...is Froyo smoother all around for you though? Retired my Droid but reading around it seems like quite a few are switching back to froyo roms.
     
  13. samiusmc

    samiusmc Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    754
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Froyo was smoother. When Gingerbread first came out for the OG Droid, it wasn't polished. However, most developers are now using the CM 7 build and improving it. My Droid runs as smooth and fast as it ever has. There's no need to considering upgrading the way this bad boy is running.
     
  14. roboman342

    roboman342 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Germantown, WI
    Ratings:
    +0
    Im trying to install Chevy SS 5.2 and all Im getting is

    E:update.zip blocked Installation aborted.
     
  15. roboman342

    roboman342 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Germantown, WI
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok then, after mashing buttons out of frustration it started the install....? and is it normal for the phone to be on the M motorola bootup symbol for like 10+ mins
     
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2011
Search tags for this page

samsung droid charge motorola droid 1