Serious homescreen redraw. Suggestions?

Discussion in 'Project Elite' started by Rodeojones, Aug 10, 2011.

  1. Rodeojones
    Offline

    Rodeojones New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bloomer, WI
    Here's my setup: PE 6.5, LauncherPro Plus, Elite Series v3 LV 1.1Ghz Kernel.

    Okay, this has gotten to the point where I can no longer stand it. I understand that homescreen redraws will happen from time to time, but this is out of hand. The problem is, I get a redraw evertime I do anything with my phone - sometimes taking as long as 45 seconds for my phone to be responsive. If I spend a few seconds in my phone settings and hit the home button - Redraw. If I send a text message via Handcent - Redraw. Heaven forbid I use an app like Facebook or Twitter or browse the web. I've tried locking home in memory via Elite Settings as well a within the LP settings and the problem still persists. I've tried checking the option for "High Priority Launcher" within Elite Settings and still no luck.

    Does anyone have any suggestions for me? Would doing anything with VM heap size, compcache, or purging of assets help? I ask because I've always left that along and kept it at default. Thanks in advance for your assistance.
  2. AdamPA1006
    Offline

    AdamPA1006 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    687
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
  3. Rodeojones
    Offline

    Rodeojones New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bloomer, WI
    Thanks for the info. I just got this up and running. I guess time will tell if it works or not.

    EDIT: I'm aware that it's only been a few minutes, but I'm already seeing an improvement. I just read some tweets for about 5 minutes and even clicked on a link in one of them that took me directly to the browser. Hitting the home button took me directly back without any redraw. This was impossible for me prior to running this script.
  4. AdamPA1006
    Offline

    AdamPA1006 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    687
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Glad you got it working its definitely confusing. But you redraws are because of the small RAM the OG has (only 256MB) so no matter what ROM you run there is such a limited amount of RAM. The new phones like the Bionic have 1GB so hopefully tweaks like this won't be necessary.
  5. danceswithbongs
    Offline

    danceswithbongs New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    A TeePee outside of Detroit
    Adam
    I thought that the Bionic was only going to end up with 512?
    Did you read new specs?

    walkin the walk while tappin the talk
    danceswithbongs
  6. Rodeojones
    Offline

    Rodeojones New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bloomer, WI
    Yeah, I'm aware of the RAM issue and how that was causing my redraw issues. My problem was that redraws with this particular ROM were happening way more frequently and taking longer than with any ROM in the past. In any case, this SuperCharger script worked great. It was simple to get up and running (took me less than 5 minutes) and I haven't had a single redraw or had any apps killed by the OS since. I wish I had come across this earlier.
  7. Rodeojones
    Offline

    Rodeojones New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bloomer, WI
    I have also read that it's coming with 1GB of RAM.
  8. danceswithbongs
    Offline

    danceswithbongs New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    A TeePee outside of Detroit
    Thanks Mr Fumke
    I think I just saw the same info.
    I had no idea you posted this.
    I seem to have set my email notifications wrong.
    I just don't like not getting to reply quickly with a thanks when someone drops me some knowledge I was seeking.

    Great appreciation from the great big gig in the sky

    walkin the walk while tappin the talk
    danceswithbongs
Search tags for this page
android home screen redraws
,
android stop from redrawing homescreen
,
android+home+screen redraw
,
droid razr hd custom rom redraw problem
,
droid slow screen refresh
,

galaxy s3 home screen redraw

,
galaxy s3 home screen redraw issue
,
galaxy s3 redraw issue
,
homescreen redraw android
,
how to prevent my screen from redrawing
,
how to prevent the screen from slow redraws in android