1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Sense UI vs LauncherPro Beta Speed

Discussion in 'HTC Droid Incredible' started by xxacexx2, Jun 6, 2010.

  1. xxacexx2
    Offline

    xxacexx2 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Tx
    Ok I am wondering if anyone else has tried this or knows the answer.

    On my Incredible, I use launcherpro beta and the phone seems to be much faster. When I used the sense homescreen, sometimes when i hit the home button i would run into an HTC logo while it loaded.

    Other than that i just find launcher pro to be much MUCH speedier.

    *Side Note*
    for those who say it defeats the purpose of getting a sense phone, it does not. There is so much more to sense phones then the homescreens and widgets.
  2. Pauliewalnutted
    Offline

    Pauliewalnutted New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I can't makeup my mind. To use launcher pro or to use sense? Which gets better battery life? What features will I lose from sense?

    Sent from my ADR6300 using Tapatalk
  3. xxacexx2
    Offline

    xxacexx2 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Tx
    I think launcher pro is much better

    the icons i can customize at the bottom are MUCH more useful to me then the ones that sense comes with.

    The only thing is that you will not be able to use sense widgets
    but they are too big for me anyway.

    There are widgets that do the same thing on the android market.

    Trust me..try it for awhile..you will probably prefer it.
  4. adrynalyne
    Offline

    adrynalyne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The HTC logo you are seeing happens when Sense has crashed and is reloading.
  5. xxacexx2
    Offline

    xxacexx2 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Tx
    happens quite a bit
    sense takes a long time to reload also.
    if launcherpro ever force closes it doesnt take half as long to reload
  6. mach330
    Offline

    mach330 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    682
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The OC
    i was switching back and forth for a while, but now i've stayed with launcherpro. i don't use much of the htc widgets to justify going back to sense. also, the 4 extra shortcuts keeps my screens much more cleaner which is how i like mine.
  7. adrynalyne
    Offline

    adrynalyne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It rarely ever happens to me. Likely something you are running doesnt agree with it. When I hit home, I am back at it, instantly.
  8. MiXoLoGiSt
    Offline

    MiXoLoGiSt New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
    Same here, its happened to me a little bit but not a lot.
  9. Kevinb84
    Offline

    Kevinb84 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I cannot for the life of me find launcer pro in the market.
  10. shamus
    Offline

    shamus New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    It's not coming up for me either. I'm sure you can find the APK somewhere.
    I ran it before and it does run fast. But this is my first Sense phone and I'm still liking their widgets.
    I do kinda wonder if it's any better on battery one way or another.
  11. HolyGrail
    Offline

    HolyGrail Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Here is a link to the web site. You can download it from there.

    LauncherPro
  12. solorca
    Offline

    solorca New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    I tried it for a few days and I just don't care for it. It crashed on me within 15 minutes of having it, and proceeded to crash about five more times over the three days I had it.

    I LOVE the ability to add five lines to the homescreen, as well as the four static buttons at the bottom, but just didn't love it overall. Plus, I really like Friendstream, which wouldn't work on LauncherPro.
  13. lvlln
    Offline

    lvlln New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I like the extra buttons at the bottom of the screen, but I wish I could use HTC's Sense widgets on it. Or, at the very least, the Genie weather/news widget by Google had been bundled in, so that I could have a nice weather widget in my home screen.
  14. solorca
    Offline

    solorca New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Just do a google search for Genie Widget. You shouldn't have much trouble finding it.
  15. shamus
    Offline

    shamus New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    I tried Launcher Pro but I don't like the home tap screen preview.
    Helix1 runs like a beast for me though. And I love their double tap screen preview.
  16. kmo
    Offline

    kmo New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Battery life is not going to be good if you're using this phone to it's potential. Running multiple Apps, internet, texting, calls etc. Going to take it's toll at some point. I still don't get the point to this App if you're defeating some of the Sense UI functionality. Personally, I like the Sense UI interface. It's a personal thing, I know.
  17. dantheman
    Offline

    dantheman New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you load LauncherPro, how do you turn off Sense? Or does it ride on top of Sense? How easy is it to switch between the two?
  18. ffej89
    Offline

    ffej89 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I llike LauncherPro alot but the only way i would need it is if i didnt have senseUI. If i had a droid or X i would use L.P but with sense its not needed
  19. beesy
    Offline

    beesy New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I tried to upload launcher pro but no luck on this site....wonder why.
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2010
  20. ffej89
    Offline

    ffej89 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    beesy if you have a DINC you have launcherPro right in your app store
Search tags for this page
htc sense ui launcher pro
,

lp sense ui 1.6 apk

,
lp sense ui 1.6.0.0
,
lp sense ui-launcher.html