Sending my D1 back to VZW and unrooting?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by Exayex, Mar 19, 2011.

  1. Exayex

    Exayex Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've got a "like-new" D1 coming from Verizon, however, the rep said I need to send this phone back in or I have to pay full retail. Do I need to unroot this phone before sending it in? Also, if this is the case, how would I go about doing this?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  2. stealthgriffin

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes you do need to unroot. Best bet is to just sbf it.

    Sent from my rooted Galaxy Tab
     
  3. Exayex

    Exayex Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sbf?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  4. jntdroid

    jntdroid Super Moderator
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,448
    Likes Received:
    299
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +300
    don't worry about sbf'ing - just put this file on the root of your SD Card, wipe data/cache, then flash this file (if you're running a custom recovery?):

    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/4033527/signed-voles-FRG22D-Master_OTA.zip

    That's the FRG22D Master OTA file. It will wipe/replace your /system, replace any custom recovery, update the bootloader to the latest version, and update your baseband to the latest. Once you install it, you'll have a pure stock phone running FRG22D. That's not too far behind, from a build standpoint, so you could probably take it in as is. But if you want it to be FRG83D or FRG83G, just activate it (if it makes you) and the OTA's will be pushed to your phone for those two patches.
     
  5. Exayex

    Exayex Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I installed this tonight via CWR and I'm bootlooping. Help?! It goes to the red eye, then back to to the droid logo, then eye, etc.
     
  6. opeboy

    opeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Same here

    Came here with a like problem. My friend convinced me to let him root my phone. I really don't like it. So i tried factory reset(he flew back home since) and obviously that didn't work. How can a total newb like myself find a step by step guide to un-root. like how do I wipe my cache, and wtf is sbf'ing
     
  7. jntdroid

    jntdroid Super Moderator
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,448
    Likes Received:
    299
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +300
    did you wipe data/cache before doing it?
     
  8. jntdroid

    jntdroid Super Moderator
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,448
    Likes Received:
    299
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +300
    do you know what method he used to root it? do you have a custom recovery?

    check this if you need to - it's a bit long, but a step by step method to get anybody unrooted, and hopefully is good for a "newb" as well! ;)

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/re...ck-2-2-without-sbf-rsd-lite-droid-1-only.html
     
  9. Exayex

    Exayex Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    No. For some reason I figured flashing something like that wouldn't require it.

    Ugh... Is there anything I can do to fix it?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
    #9 Exayex, Mar 22, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2011
  10. jntdroid

    jntdroid Super Moderator
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,448
    Likes Received:
    299
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +300
    CW is the only one I had to wipe with, and I only had to do it one time, so there must be something small in there causing that. If you can't get it to flash through CW, I know that you CAN flash RZRecovery as a .zip through CW, and then flash the FRG22D file in RZRecovery.
     
  11. jntdroid

    jntdroid Super Moderator
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,448
    Likes Received:
    299
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +300
    If your phone is stuck bootlooping, pull the battery to get it off. Then try and boot into recovery again. If you get back into CW recovery (not likely), then just redo it. If it goes into stock recovery, you could try doing a factory data/reset in there, then reboot and cross your fingers.

    If that doesn't work - have you ever SBF'd with RSDLite? That's the ultimate failsafe, but it takes some additional "to-do".
     
    #11 jntdroid, Mar 22, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2011
  12. Exayex

    Exayex Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've no idea what SBF is , or RSDLite, to be honest. I feel so hopeless about this

    So pull the battery, put it in,and just press the power button or do I press something special for recovery?

    Right now, I'm willing to try anything, learn anything, read anything...hah.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
    #12 Exayex, Mar 22, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2011