1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Sending ex-rooted droid back to verizon

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by tu3218, May 13, 2010.

  1. tu3218
    Offline

    tu3218 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,219
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    So I had to get a new droid to a previous faulty droid. My oringinal droid was rooted an I went back to stock when I brought it into verizon. Is there anything I should do before sending it to verizon? I'm just about positive that there's nothing else on the phone, but i was just wondering about SPRecovery or something.
  2. LtKen
    Offline

    LtKen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,637
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, you need to remove SPRecovery and format the flash drive.

    I recommend an SBF Restore to take care of SPRecovery, just in case.
  3. tu3218
    Offline

    tu3218 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,219
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    How do I do this? thanks
  4. garrett
    Offline

    garrett New Member Theme Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,017
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    In a van by the River......
  5. tu3218
    Offline

    tu3218 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,219
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    well I unrooted using droidmod. When I tried booting into SPRecovery by holding x and power button, a exclamation point came up with a droid laying down(nothing else) does this mean SPRecovery is gone now?
  6. tu3218
    Offline

    tu3218 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,219
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    Does anyone know if I'm good now?
  7. ViciousCircle
    Offline

    ViciousCircle Android Addict Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    570
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    once you see that ! with the droid, if you hold the up volume and camera button, does that take you into a recovery/update screen? If so, that most likely means you're back to the stock recovery image now. Just make sure it doesn't say SPrecovery or anything in it and you should be good.
  8. tu3218
    Offline

    tu3218 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,219
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    When I see the !, I pressed the volume up and the camera button but nothing happened.

    EDIT: I just pressed the up volume and came up to android system recovery. towards the bottom it says E:cant open /cache/recovery/command. An towards the top it says reboot now, apply update, wipedata/factory reset, and wipe cache. I did both wipe data an wipe cache. I don't see the SPrecovery symbol or anything so I think I'm good. Just not sure about the "E:cant open..."
    Last edited: May 14, 2010
  9. naykam0810
    Offline

    naykam0810 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have returned 3 droids already to my loca verizon store and I have not erased any data, off course I have the memory card that I got with my first droid, so all my files are there. When they get these phones they will do a swipe and something similar to RSD.
  10. tu3218
    Offline

    tu3218 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,219
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    Yeah, I guess they just want the phone cause they don't want me having two droids for the price of one lol. I just didn't know if they check that stuff an I wanted to make sure my phone was good before shipping it back.
Search tags for this page

how do i erase my droid 3 before sending to verizon

,

what happenes if you send back a rooted phone

,

what to do beforw shipping verizon phone nack

,

wipe phone root before returning to verizon