Searching for service in France

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Global' started by Mariellen, Jan 19, 2012.

  1. Mariellen
    Offline

    Mariellen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Since I landed this morning my Droid2 Global has been "searching for service" or "no service.". I've tried soft reset and power down. What else should I do?
  2. Gasai Yuno
    Offline

    Gasai Yuno New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    758
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rausu-cho
    Check that you have the Verizon SIM installed.
    Check that you have the Global access plan enabled.
    Check if Settings, Wireless and Networks, Network Mode is set to Global (or GSM/UMTS, as there are no CDMA carriers in France, to my knowledge).
  3. Mariellen
    Offline

    Mariellen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you, Gasai. I do have the Verizon SIM card and have set network mode to Global. (I don't find a place to set access plan to Global.)

    I am able to set mode to GSM/UMTS and then select individual networks. I select F SFR 2G and I get the error message "Selected network (F SFR 2G) unavailable". I select F-Bouygues Telecom 2G and a little blue box pops up saying "registered on network" and then I get the error message "selected network (F-Bouygues Telecom 2G) unavailable". I select Orange F 2G and I get the message "selected network (Orange F 2G) unavailable"
  4. silver6054
    Offline

    silver6054 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Did you get Verizon to activate the SIM, by default it is off.

  5. Mariellen
    Offline

    Mariellen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I didn't ask Verizon to reactivate, but this same phone and card worked in France last summer.
  6. Gasai Yuno
    Offline

    Gasai Yuno New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    758
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rausu-cho
    You should probably contact Verizon about this.

    Your phone cannot register with the local carriers' networks, which means the SIM is not permitted to roam.
  7. Mariellen
    Offline

    Mariellen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you, Gasai. I sent them an email. Will post the result when I have it!
  8. silver6054
    Offline

    silver6054 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't know if the activation times out after a period of non-use (or when the international plan is removed). Is the phone unlocked, in which case you can try using a local SIM.
  9. SJWackness
    Offline

    SJWackness New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Every time I go abroad I've got to ring Verizon before hand and tell them I'm leaving the country. I moved permanently out of the country this time and forgot to do the *611 or whatever the code is to activate the SIM. Your man at Verizon said I can't activate my SIM now because it must be done within Verizon's network. It didn't really affect me as I was cancelling my account anyway.

    Also, every time I've gone abroad it takes ages for the phone to register with the first foreign network. My BlackBerry and Droid usually take an hour or two, but my BlackBerry once took a day.
Search tags for this page
droid 2 global selected network unailable
,
droid in france global plan
,
france network mode android
,
no service selected network unavailable verizon
,
no service verizon france
,
no verizon service in france using global services
,

selected network orange unavailable

,
wet iphone won't connect to network