1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Sdcard

Discussion in 'Project Elite' started by jcwilliams, Feb 4, 2011.

  1. jcwilliams
    Offline

    jcwilliams New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,398
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    OH
    Where can I get a new sdcard cheap that works for our phones? I called verizon and they want $69.99 a card. I believe I have a bad sdcard that's why I'm looking to get one and try it but I'm not going to try it for $70 and it may not help me.
    Thanks

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  2. GirLuvsDroid
    Offline

    GirLuvsDroid Beta Team

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,551
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wilmington, DE
  3. jcwilliams
    Offline

    jcwilliams New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,398
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    OH
    Thanks I will check it out!

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  4. jcwilliams
    Offline

    jcwilliams New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,398
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    OH
    Maybe you would know what I should do...when I reboot my phone or dismount and remount sdcard lpp fc on me. Also when I go into gallery I click on a pic to view it it comes up a different pic then what it was when viewing as a thumbnail. It kind of seems like the sdcard is just too slow.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  5. xkape
    Offline

    xkape Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,876
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    OH-IO
    have you tried pulling all your data off the card (so you dont lose it) and then reformatting the sd card?
  6. stetsonaw
    Offline

    stetsonaw Beta Team/Marty McFly Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bellevue, NE
    I'm rockin one of these...[ame="http://www.amazon.com/SanDisk-32GB-microSDHC-Memory-Package/dp/B003WGJYCY/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1296887799&sr=8-2"] Sandisk 32gb Class 4[/ame] (says class 2 in the image but I got a class 4 :D), $74.97, free shipping.
  7. jcwilliams
    Offline

    jcwilliams New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,398
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    OH
    Yes I did try this. But, I was going to try it again but instead of pulling everything off I was going to pull just music,pics and backups off then formatt everything else. Do you think that would help?


    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  8. jcwilliams
    Offline

    jcwilliams New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,398
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    OH

    What's the deal with the classes? I'm not knowledgable about cards. And I heard that the 32gb cards didn't work so well with our phones. How's it working for you?
    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  9. stetsonaw
    Offline

    stetsonaw Beta Team/Marty McFly Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bellevue, NE
    Classes are the speeds, the higher the class, the faster they are. Lets put it this way, i had a 16gb class 2 in it before i upgraded to the 32gb class 4. This card is much faster to open apps from and access, with one exception. Obviously since it's a bigger card, it does take longer to check it for errors when booting up, but i can live with that since I "need" the space. I think i've had it not register when booting MAYBE twice, but it also happened a few times with the old 16gb.
  10. danceswithbongs
    Offline

    danceswithbongs New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    A TeePee outside of Detroit
    the not registering thing has been an issue with the OG since froyo
  11. stetsonaw
    Offline

    stetsonaw Beta Team/Marty McFly Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bellevue, NE
    luckily though it gets taken care of with a reboot or two. Haven't had the issue since PE though, so i haven't had a chance to see if my new "Reload SD" button on the System Info widget works.
  12. danceswithbongs
    Offline

    danceswithbongs New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    A TeePee outside of Detroit
    It won't.
    But I used to have the ghost sd happen a lot, but knock wood not on any of the new ROMs for the last few months.
    Before rebooting though a trick I figured out was to go to market and just start scrolling on application list, sometimes it'll jumpstart the market recognizing the sd apps.
    Why? Another mystery of the unknown.
  13. jcwilliams
    Offline

    jcwilliams New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,398
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    OH
    It could be a froyo problem if it only does it here and there but mine is every single time I reboot and every single time I dismount from the computer. And it has done it with two roms so far not looking to check on another rom bc I like PE but that's why I was thinking I had a sdcard issue...



    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  14. stetsonaw
    Offline

    stetsonaw Beta Team/Marty McFly Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bellevue, NE
    i'd say pick up a new sd card and try that out, if that doesn't fix the problem, you can usually return it (make sure you check their return policy on storage media though).
  15. jcwilliams
    Offline

    jcwilliams New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,398
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    OH
    Yea I think that's what I'm going to do.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  16. stetsonaw
    Offline

    stetsonaw Beta Team/Marty McFly Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bellevue, NE
    Let us know how it goes dude!
  17. danceswithbongs
    Offline

    danceswithbongs New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    A TeePee outside of Detroit
    buy a small cheap one, most don't allow return after open
    verizon replaced my phone because of that issue
    it has happened to many
    google it and you'll see
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2011
  18. jcwilliams
    Offline

    jcwilliams New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,398
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    OH
    i am going to order a 16gb class 4 tom so as soon as i put everything on it and see what it does i will post back.
  19. stetsonaw
    Offline

    stetsonaw Beta Team/Marty McFly Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bellevue, NE
    sounds good! make sure to move clockwork to your phone pop it into your phone before you move everything over, open up Clockwork and format it for... crap, i forget what it's called, maybe sd-ext? anyway, do that.

    I've only moved to a new SD card when flashing a new ROM, so i think the best idea for you would be (if you aren't going to reflash) to move clockwork to your phone from the SD (if it isn't there already), make a backup, then copy the entire SD card to the new one (after formatting the new one of course), then do a restore, just to make sure everything is where it should be.

    sorry if you already knew all this, not thinking about doing it that way is one of the reasons i just flashed a new ROM with my new SD card.

    Or you could ghost your old to your new if you have that.
  20. jcwilliams
    Offline

    jcwilliams New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,398
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    OH
    Yea I didn't know that! Thanks for your info/help! Once I get it I will probably be contacting you lol.
    Thanks

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App