SD card problems

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 3' started by Malvado, Jul 8, 2011.

  1. Malvado

    Malvado DF News Team/Mod
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,991
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +15
    ok so i took my 16gb sd card from my droid 2 and put it on my droid 3. the phone reads it and all with no problem. the problem is that it doesnt show all of the actual files and folders i have in that card. for example, it only shows the system ones that get copied onto it. to see the files using es file explorer. i have to first go to the system files then look for a folder called sdcard_ext
     
  2. shiek403

    shiek403 New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i am having a similar problem... but my gallery can access them, but all my apps that have their data backed up to the sd card cant read it... it says its not there...
    please help :D
     
  3. Malvado

    Malvado DF News Team/Mod
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,991
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +15
    exactly what i am experiencing
     
  4. Malvado

    Malvado DF News Team/Mod
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,991
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +15
    anyone know how to make MY sd card the default?
     
  5. bigdad63

    bigdad63 Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    516
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    SC
    Ratings:
    +25
    I can't remember if it was your question I answered on the other thread, but the only vz rep I trust said that only media can be read from the sd card (when I had the same prob with my short-lived X2). I had to physically put the apks in the corresponding folder to get them to work.
     
  6. drewlamo1

    drewlamo1 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    you gotta copy all the files from sdcard-ext into sdcard i think for any app that needs sdcard info.

    like i had to copy launcherpro backup folder over to restore it with the app
     
  7. Malvado

    Malvado DF News Team/Mod
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,991
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +15
    It wouldn't let me move my folders...it was acting like they were read only files

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  8. mattbooty

    mattbooty Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I did this as well, launcher pro, acar, and some golf apps that had data backed up or exported to sd card, I just copied the contents of sd-ext/data to sdcard/data and they restored/imported (although launcher didn't restore all of my home screen icons, all of the settings and launcher/dock were restored).

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  9. shiek403

    shiek403 New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    for those of you who are having this issue here is the fix
    1. just plug ur phone into ur comp, 2 external drives will show up
    2. move the files off the root of ur sd card
    3. move them to the root of the other one
    4. ????
    5. Profit
     
  10. Malvado

    Malvado DF News Team/Mod
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,991
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +15
    so im guessin we're being forced into using the internal storage first =/
     
  11. Raptor007

    Raptor007 Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +0
    That is stupid of Moto, just because they don't include a microSD card doesn't mean the OS shouldn't be smart enough to map to an microSD slot once a card is detected or give you an option to choose.
     
  12. Malvado

    Malvado DF News Team/Mod
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,991
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +15
    Exactly what I was thinking. What if I want to use my physical SD card as the primary

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
Search tags for this page

droid 3 gallery dvd drive says please insert sd card

,

droid 3 help sd card

,

droid 3 sd card capability

,

droid3 sd card

,

og droid sd card problems