Sd card problem

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by richz, Dec 11, 2009.

  1. iiimegamaniii

    iiimegamaniii Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Seattle Area
    Ratings:
    +0
    The DROID is supposed to go up to 32GB.

    I've never seen an external HDD or external solid-state memory formatted as NTFS. Reason being? What if you have a MAC or are running Linux, etc. They are all in FAT32.

    - Mega
     
  2. dezymond

    dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    11,058
    Likes Received:
    755
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +772
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Galaxy s4
    I just recently purchased a new 320gb WD passport external, I first connected it in Win7 and it showed up as NTFS. From my experience, and from across a bit of info I saw through my troubles of trying to retrieve files from a BSoD windows through Linux, the external was NTFS. I had to download Swissknife and format it to FAT32.
     
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2009
  3. iiimegamaniii

    iiimegamaniii Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Seattle Area
    Ratings:
    +0
    If that's the case Dezy--then I stand corrected. :)

    - Mega

    EDIT:
    Damn, that's just really weird something would come formatted with NTFS out-of-the-box when I think more about it. I worked with HDD OEMs in a past life and never once did I hear them say they'd do something like that. Maybe it was something like a "Designed For Windows 7" type of thing?
     
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2009
  4. rlandon

    rlandon Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    PCB, FL
    Ratings:
    +0
    I believe it is. Several other phones will handle 32gb, but wasn't sure on the android OS or the Droid. I'll be trying it once they release the cards.

    I'd go blind trying to watch a movie on this size screen. My eyes are bad enough. :D My intent was to be able to access work files from the Droid using D2G while out on the road, without having to use the laptop. I could transfer doc's from emails and update to the drive. Porbably many other uses.

    My work drive is FAT32 I believe. Never really checked.

    EDIT: Sorry to hijack the thread, OP.
     
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2009
  5. jaysonstaurt

    jaysonstaurt Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0

    reported :)
     
  6. dezymond

    dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    11,058
    Likes Received:
    755
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +772
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Galaxy s4
    Haha it's ok. In your past life I guess computers weren't so advanced =P.
    But really the computer industry changes on like a 2 week basis, quite annoying now. But yes, I do recall reading that if it's like 32gb+ it's no longer FAT32, but NTFS. NTFS can hold more information that FAT32 can, so I guess that's how they get the most out of their drive now.

    edit: I also put the drive into my netbook which runs XP, show as NTFS as well.
     
  7. iiimegamaniii

    iiimegamaniii Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Seattle Area
    Ratings:
    +0
    LOL I'm not that damn old! LOL

    <Quickly ALT-Tabbing Before Wife Sees What I Wrote & Immediately Contradicts Me>

    Looks like I have some studying / refreshing to do since I've been out of the HDD game for three years. In the meantime, I'm off to put my kids to bed. TTYL

    - Mega
     
  8. dezymond

    dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    11,058
    Likes Received:
    755
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +772
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Galaxy s4
    HAHAHA just messin around.

    Wow you been out of the game for 3 years huh, that's plenty of info to soak in then. Alot has been happening in 3 years, dare i mention SSDs? LOL.

    Good to know you know about computers though, I wish alot more people did. Especially with how much as a society we rely on computers now, just another thing for people to take for granted /sigh.
     
  9. rlandon

    rlandon Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    PCB, FL
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just checked both my Lacie and WD external drives and they are both FAT32. My laptop is Vista 64 and server is Vista Ultimate, soon to be Win7 Ultimate once I get the time away from my Droid, ha!

    The thing that I wonder about is the external hd ROM forcing the OS to add the drivers. I doubt it has Android, but could it see it? I may go buy a male mini usb to male micro usb and see what it does. Worth a shot (or brick......).
     
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2009
  10. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,250
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +6


    LOL......:icon_ banana:
     
Search tags for this page
*#*#307#*#* need correct passport in sd card
,
*#*#307#*#* need passport in sd card
,

need correct passport in sd card

,
need correct passport in sd card please check it
,
needs correct passport in sd card
,
samsung mega 9200 sd card does not work