1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

SD Card mounts, but cannot be read.

Discussion in 'Droid Rooted Help' started by PatchAdams2000, Feb 16, 2011.

  1. PatchAdams2000
    Offline

    PatchAdams2000 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Shelby, NC
    Trying to explain this the best I can...
    My origional Droid running Project Elite 4.2 has an SDcard that's 16GB. I've used down to 2GB with 1,200 songs and countless pictures as well as a few apps that can be moved to SDcard.
    I've had this phone for a year, and the PE4 since the end of December, and never had an SDcard problem. Today my alarm went off but not with the usual Korn "Wake Up" song I have saved on the SDcard. It was just a normal default system sound. I checked my ringtones and all my music was gone! Every ringtone I created was gone! The Tone Picker said "No Music Or SD Card Inserted." So I turned on the PowerAMP had no music in the song list. 1,200 songs...gone. I then noticed that in Gallery, all my pictures were gone.
    Here's the kicker, my SDcard is still there, mounted. My apps still work perfectly. I can go into Root Explorer and manually play my songs and look at pics. Yet my apps are not seeing these songs and pictures. I also noticed that I can still take pictures, and save them to the SDcard. And they even show up in Gallery. But how come my old pics are not!? I also downloaded a new song using MP3 Downloader. The new song shows up in PowerAMP, but the old ones do not.
    Any ideas? I'm gonna try to copy my SDcard to a computer and re-format, but I need a 2.0 USB port or it will take forever.
  2. teddyearp
    Offline

    teddyearp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,800
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Randle, WA
    Sorry that this reply is so late. You _might_ be able to alleviate the situation by taking out your sdcard and gently cleaning the contacts with a toothbrush and/or just reseat the card and try from there.

    Otherwise, I would suggest what you started, copy everything to your pc, reformat the card with the phone and xfer back. Or better, get a new card and _then_ xfer back.

    good luck
  3. PatchAdams2000
    Offline

    PatchAdams2000 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Shelby, NC
    I transferred to my CPU then reformatted my sd card and transferred it all back. It worked for about an hour and quit reading again. i checked for viruses and errors and something was wrong with my wireless Tether. I deleted the app, but think I gotta do it again
  4. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Try another card. If you have the same problem then you have a faulty SD card interface. If the problem discontinues then you have a flaky SD card and will need to replace it.
  5. PatchAdams2000
    Offline

    PatchAdams2000 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Shelby, NC
    Ok, this thing is nutz. I'm now starting to think it's not the SDcard in general. My WiFi decided not to work anymore. My home WiFi is working perfectly, yet my phone is not connecting to it while my PS3 and my wife's HTC Incred are both connected with no problems. My phone is saying "Connecting"..."Disconnecting"..."Scanning"..."Connecting"...ect.
    I found this out yesterday. I've tried different Roms from Bugless Beast to Ultimate Droid. I've also did complete wipes of my phone's cache & data. It continues to do this.
    I'm outta options now.
  6. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Delete all stored hotspots and then try again. If that doesn't fix it then try resetting the router.

    Also, Droid 1s do NOT like one kind of encryption, so if you're running encrypted you should swap the encryption type or just broadcast in the clear.
  7. PatchAdams2000
    Offline

    PatchAdams2000 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Shelby, NC
    I did both. I realized that while I was disconnected from the router, my phone "Scanning" for 2 seconds then stopped for 5. Then it would say "Scanning" again. When I told it to connect to my router, it would "Connecting" "Disconnecting" "Scanning" loop again. It's like it wants to keep scanning and scanning for no apparent reason. I looked for a way to stop it, but I don't know how.

    I really appreciate all the help you guys, but I think my phone is killing itself.
  8. PatchAdams2000
    Offline

    PatchAdams2000 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Shelby, NC
    Here's a big hint. When a buddy tells you he's gonna overclock/underclock your phone for performance & battery life, make sure he's not doing it the same way he did it for his Droid X.

    My OG Droid died. Insides completely fried. My SDcard is inside my new HTC Incredible, but still having the same problem, thus my SDcard is probably fried too, even though I can still use it to Root my Incred, and re-install all of my apps.
  9. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Sorry you lost your D1. I hope the burial was appropriate. :)

    Replacement class 2 SD cards aren't that expensive -- however, if you want to bump up in speed you'll start paying a lot more in a big hurry.
Search tags for this page
cannot read my sd card
,
cant read sd card in phone
,
my droid a855 wont format my sd card
,
my ps3 wont read my sd card
,

my sd card cannot be read

,
ps3 wont read sd card
,
s3 wont read.sd card for.pictures
,

sd card cannot be read

,
sd card wont read on ps3
,
when i try to blutooth on my a855 droid it says no sd card a
,
why my sd card wont read
,
why sd card cannot be read
,
why won't my droid a855 read my sd card
,
why wont my ps3 read my android sd card
,
why wont my ps3 read my sd card