SD card issues?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Global' started by klep33, Feb 16, 2011.

  1. klep33
    Offline

    klep33 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    Is anyone else having problems? My stock SD card likes to stop working and forcing me to format.anyone else having this problem? Im running stock rom.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums App
  2. wilboy
    Offline

    wilboy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    684
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    well...u can backup first ur sd card to ur comp. then fotmat...;)
    don' t worry about d sys. files...its not in ur sd card.
    ps...sorry,having prob. typing here on my phone. :)
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2011
  3. LaxzBro
    Offline

    LaxzBro New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Constantly backup to your comp. The guy at Verizon told me it's because I "downloaded a file the phone didn't like". You have no control and the rep said these problems are to be expected. I took it in and he gave me a new sd card and, probably unknowingly, upgraded me to a class 4 :D

    Lax bro, closet geek
  4. klep33
    Offline

    klep33 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    I have backed up numerous times and have put the blank SD card in and sometimes it still tells me its damaged. I guess I'll just head to Verizon and get a new card. Should I unroot and everything before I bring my phone in?
  5. LaxzBro
    Offline

    LaxzBro New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't think it really matters. Just to be safe, I would say unroot and go back to stock but hold on to your root apps. He literally took my phone, formatted the card, and then decided to switch cards.


    Lax bro, closet geek
  6. klep33
    Offline

    klep33 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    OK thanks for the advice. Gonna head to Verizon when I have a chance.
  7. leobg
    Offline

    leobg Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    658
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Could happen if you use with your computer in memory card mode and pull the cable without first ejecting from the PC. Always eject before switching to 'charge only' mode or disconnecting the cable.
  8. klep33
    Offline

    klep33 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    I make sure I safely disconnect every time and it still messes up.
  9. draexo
    Offline

    draexo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Myrtle Beach, SC
    No problems with my SD card on my rooted stock Verizon global. Do you have another SD card to try? I have about 20 of them from 64mb all the way to 8GB and never a bad one. I would try another SD card to isolate the problem to the phone or card.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums App
  10. NiceGuysFinishLast
    Offline

    NiceGuysFinishLast New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    748
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    They make 64MB microSD cards? That seems like a waste of plastic lol.
  11. klep33
    Offline

    klep33 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    I've been using my old BB's SD and I have not had 1 problem at all. So basically I know it is the SD card. However, I don't know how to show them at the store since it sometimes take a while for it to screw up.
  12. draexo
    Offline

    draexo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Myrtle Beach, SC
    I would go buy a 16gb and just replace it. Otherwise you probably need to go to a Verizon store where they have tech capabilities and just tell them you swapped cards and it is the card. Then again do you want to bring your rooted phone to Verizon??

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums App
  13. klep33
    Offline

    klep33 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    It's not hard to unroot a phone and make it appear stock and why would I spend money when their product came defective?
  14. draexo
    Offline

    draexo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Myrtle Beach, SC
    Just telling you what I would do. I was planning on gettting the 16gb card anyway, but you do have a point.
Search tags for this page

damaged sd card fix

,

droid 2 sd issues

,

droid inc 2 sd card ejecting

,

gdroid 2 to droid 2 global sd card

,

verizon global sd card