1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

SD card and app problem

Discussion in 'HTC Droid Incredible' started by eskimo2003, Dec 22, 2010.

  1. eskimo2003
    Offline

    eskimo2003 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm having a problem with my SD card and running apps. Recently I tried to open astro file manager to clean up my SD card and it was working great for a while. Now every time I open the app my SD card unmounts by itself. I haven't tried to format the card but I have stuff on there I don't want to lose. Also can any one recommend a good file manager?

    Sent from my ADR6300 using DroidForums App
  2. kramer56
    Offline

    kramer56 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    northern ny
    good luck did the same to me sunday when a lady from htc told me to do it. my phone will not format my card. it wont even highlight selection. I saved all too my laptop and wiped card clean but didnt format cuz i dont know how,and put a few pics back on it by emailing my phone number and saving to card. what a PITA!!!!! Thanks astro
  3. eskimo2003
    Offline

    eskimo2003 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Great sounds like a lot of fun...

    Sent from my ADR6300 using DroidForums App
  4. kramer56
    Offline

    kramer56 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    northern ny
    nope not at all fun.
  5. spacemonkey03
    Offline

    spacemonkey03 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    indiana
    I have a mildly unrelated issue... I can't figure out to do the simple task of backing up apps. I've been reading that it can save file size and help prevent app storage notifications. Anyone able to break it down for me?

    Sent from Spacemonkey03
  6. enlightened
    Offline

    enlightened Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,074
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    Are you rooted or running stock?
  7. spacemonkey03
    Offline

    spacemonkey03 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    indiana
    I'm running stock. This is my first smart phone and don't really know the benefits of rooting and honestly don't even know how to do it lol
  8. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    Open Astro. Tap menu, tap tools, tap application backup manager.

    I've not ever used this particular function so I cannot verify that it will allow you to safely restore your applications.

    All of your apps are associated with your Google account so you can restore the apps but not the data. Open market, tap menu, tap downloads

    Hop this is helpful.

    Mike
  9. spacemonkey03
    Offline

    spacemonkey03 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    indiana
    Right on, sounds simple enough. I appreciate the advice. Hopefully this will take care of my notifications.
  10. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    Sorry, I missed that you were having notification issues. What app is causing you a notification issue?
  11. spacemonkey03
    Offline

    spacemonkey03 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    indiana
    I have no clue... it just says that the memory is low and I have 6 gigs of space available. I read that backing them up can make them not use as much space and I've put everything it let's me on the sdcard
  12. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    Are you using a task killer?
  13. spacemonkey03
    Offline

    spacemonkey03 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    indiana
    No, I use to but it kept crashing my phone
  14. spacemonkey03
    Offline

    spacemonkey03 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    indiana
    When it says the memory is low, is it talking about the memory on the running apps? Everytime I clicked the notification it took me the "manage apps" screen
  15. enlightened
    Offline

    enlightened Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,074
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    Can you move any of your apps to your SD card?
  16. spacemonkey03
    Offline

    spacemonkey03 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    indiana
    Yea, I moved all that gave me the option to. It made it go away for a couple days and came back again today. I'm wondering now if the "available memory" is a preset amount of space outside of what the phones internal memory says...
  17. kramer56
    Offline

    kramer56 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    northern ny
    Astro is what caused my problems with my card. Something to do within the cache folder.
  18. spacemonkey03
    Offline

    spacemonkey03 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    indiana
    I rarely use astro, so I can uninstall that and give it a try...
Search tags for this page
droid incredible says storage card missing
,

droid incredible storage card missing

,
incredibel 2 not reading apps sd card
,
storage card missing htc incredible