S'cuse me while I bang my head on my desk....

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy Nexus' started by ChevyNexus, Mar 12, 2012.

  1. ChevyNexus

    ChevyNexus Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Toledo Ohio
    Ratings:
    +10
    So here we go....after going through 4 Bionic's , getting terrible treatment from Verizon, having my money in hand ready to cancel my whole family plan because of the treatment I was receiving. Then I end up getting a Nexus from them for free which made me feel like finally good times with Verizon were on the horizon..... my phone starts rebooting by itself an freezing up...... v.v .... I've done two resets an it still does it.....almost ready to go back to a flip phone x.x

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
     
  2. dezymond

    dezymond Tech Support Mod
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    12,077
    Likes Received:
    1,503
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +1,667
    Current Phone Model:
    Google Pixel
    Man you got all the luck don't you? Hope you don't have to go through the same ordeal for a working Nexus now.
     
  3. tgyberg

    tgyberg Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,948
    Likes Received:
    301
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Minnesota
    Ratings:
    +325
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL & C
    Could be apps that are causing the problems. Lots are still not updated for 4.0, they seem to work fine at first but can cause issues like you are having. I've had trouble with games and wallpaper apps.
     
  4. billyk

    billyk Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    694
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    What tgyberg said.

    Just like you, I had a frustrating experience with the Bionic, argued with VZW long/hard, and they agreed to give me a gnex. I unfortunately put a bunch of apps on it, too soon to determine how stable my new phone was, and I got a reboot (I know you've gotten multiple). I chucked every app except those provided on the gnex from VZW.

    Since then I've been careful to only install apps that are "ics-safe". And that's only been a handful actually.

    My gnex is totally stable, and downright amazing! It's in another league altogether from the Bionic, IMO.

    Hopefully a battery-pull and chucking apps will provide you with a stable platform on which to build. This is one awesome phone for sure!

    Here's hopin' that you have the same experience!
     
  5. akhenax

    akhenax Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,669
    Likes Received:
    368
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    NY
    Ratings:
    +490
    I know Poweramp causes reboots in it's current iteration.
     
  6. WookieClaws

    WookieClaws Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Oregon
    Ratings:
    +1
    I've been using PowerAMP since the first day I got the GNex (December). There was an PowerAMP update recently for ICS (2/20 was the latest update). The re-boots I have seen were all while making phone calls though.
     
  7. ChevyNexus

    ChevyNexus Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Toledo Ohio
    Ratings:
    +10
    Well got my replacement an got most of it set up. Seems to be snapper(though the other one didn't have lag) then my other one an my radio in the phone seems strong so here's hoping its my good one. Also thanks Dezy an all you guys.

    Oh an I did get free screen protectors so win? Haha

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
     
  8. gibsonlp223

    gibsonlp223 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    I had reboots on stock all the time, but then I rooted and I don't get them anymore. I'm pretty sure its a stock kernel issue. Might wanna consider rooting.

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
     
  9. jclake

    jclake New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    My first Galaxy Nexus had reboot issues. I took it back to Verizon and they gave me a new one. I haven't had any issues with the second phone. I think there are some Nexus phones with defective hardware.
     
  10. LuvMusic

    LuvMusic Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Chicago area
    Ratings:
    +1
    +1, I've been using Poweramp since release day with no reboots related to Poweramp. In fact, I think my GN has only rebooted twice since I've had it....very stable (stock, not rooted).
     
  11. ChevyNexus

    ChevyNexus Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Toledo Ohio
    Ratings:
    +10
    Ughhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh. This is annoying now. Barely any apps installed an it now randomly reboots an gets ridiculously hot up by the top of the screen. Two nights ago I kept dropping sign too. I dont wanna have to deal with Verizon again! I feel like they're gonna flag my account for too many returns...
    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
     
  12. jntdroid

    jntdroid Super Moderator
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,455
    Likes Received:
    315
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +317
    As long as they're legitimate and they note your account appropriately, you'll be fine. Trust me... I have too much experience in that arena. :blink:
     
Search tags for this page
poweramp keeps rebooting phone
,

poweramp rebooting phone