Screenshot Unable to Capture

Discussion in 'Android Support' started by Gudasau, Aug 8, 2016.

  1. Gudasau

    Gudasau Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    673
    Trophy Points:
    433
    Location:
    Mountaineer living in Buckeye Nation
    Ratings:
    +689
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Z-Force
    Just moved into my Moto Z-Force and I am unable to get a screenshot to capture. The message states:

    "Couldn't capture screenshot. Can't take screenshot due to limited storage space, or it isn't allowed by the app or your organization."

    Internal storage states 8.62 used of 23.63GB
    SD card states 8.33 used of 14.83GB

    This is a personal phone and I'm wondering if I have a setting checked somewhere that shouldn't be...
     
  2. smalltowngirl13

    smalltowngirl13 Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    7,135
    Likes Received:
    976
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Location:
    Kansas
    Ratings:
    +1,026
    Current Phone Model:
    Z Force 2
    Twitter:
    smalltownlife13
    I have found that you cannot capture a screen in the My Verizon app, even with a 3rd party app...

    ~sent while mobile~
     
    • Like Like x 2
  3. Gudasau

    Gudasau Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    673
    Trophy Points:
    433
    Location:
    Mountaineer living in Buckeye Nation
    Ratings:
    +689
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Z-Force
    I did go onto Facebook and was able to do so there...., but I was trying to capture a setting in my phone to share with my husband and it wouldn't work. Nor did trying to capture my main screen with icons. Weird.... Maybe some copyright and/or security thing?
     
  4. smalltowngirl13

    smalltowngirl13 Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    7,135
    Likes Received:
    976
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Location:
    Kansas
    Ratings:
    +1,026
    Current Phone Model:
    Z Force 2
    Twitter:
    smalltownlife13
    Interesting - I can capture in settings (areas that I tried) and my home screen but I am using Lucid Pro.

    ~sent while mobile~
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Gudasau

    Gudasau Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    673
    Trophy Points:
    433
    Location:
    Mountaineer living in Buckeye Nation
    Ratings:
    +689
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Z-Force
    I have no idea what I'm running lol. It's whatever came on the phone.

    Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk
     
  6. mountainbikermark

    mountainbikermark Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    7,455
    Likes Received:
    3,886
    Trophy Points:
    1,563
    Ratings:
    +4,348
    Certain apps and screens have security built in to prevent screen captures. Like my Target Cartwheel app won't allow me to screen shot the generated bar code.

    Support Our Troops!!!
    Beast Mode 4

    <><
     
    • Like Like x 2
  7. Gudasau

    Gudasau Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    673
    Trophy Points:
    433
    Location:
    Mountaineer living in Buckeye Nation
    Ratings:
    +689
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Z-Force
    That's what I've figured was going on, but never experienced it before on previous phones. I haven't dug in & starting keeping tabs on everything yet, but it appears the security on this phone has been amped up a couple of notches.

    Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk
     
  8. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    11,362
    Likes Received:
    7,094
    Trophy Points:
    1,863
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +7,604
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Droid Z Force
    Do you have a work email account on the phone? Sometimes that changes the Security settings and that app can lock out other features...maybe even screen shots.

    Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. Gudasau

    Gudasau Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    673
    Trophy Points:
    433
    Location:
    Mountaineer living in Buckeye Nation
    Ratings:
    +689
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Z-Force
    Nothing from work is very secure smh, but I also have outlook for my personal business, but it's been on my MAXX & T2. There's something else preventing it. Not a big deal, I just like using it to help with remembering settings & how my home page is set up -- just in case I have to fdr.

    Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk
     
  10. mountainbikermark

    mountainbikermark Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    7,455
    Likes Received:
    3,886
    Trophy Points:
    1,563
    Ratings:
    +4,348
    Welcome to the world of timely security updates to Android.

    Support Our Troops!!!
    Beast Mode 4

    <><
     
    • Like Like x 2
  11. Gudasau

    Gudasau Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    673
    Trophy Points:
    433
    Location:
    Mountaineer living in Buckeye Nation
    Ratings:
    +689
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Z-Force
    No kidding lol. I'll just snap some pictures with my regular camera, no big deal, but it would have been handy helping my husband through a couple of things today.
    While we're on the subject of security, this fingerprint reader absolutely rocks!

    Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk
     
    • Like Like x 2
  12. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    11,362
    Likes Received:
    7,094
    Trophy Points:
    1,863
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +7,604
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Droid Z Force
    I'm still perplexed by this. I've tried to screenshot almost every Setting screen tonight and they all work. Granted, you may have a newer Security Patch than the T2. Very strange.

    Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk
     
    • Like Like x 1
Search tags for this page
couldnt capture screen shot by the app or your organisation
,
my phone z not screenshoting
,

screenshot not allowed by app

,
take screenshot in not allowed app
,
taking screen shot not allowed by the app
,
taking screenshot is not allowed by the app or your organisation
,
taking screenshots is not allowed by the app or your organization
,
taking screenshots is not allowed by the app our your organization