Screen Rotation?

Discussion in 'Android Forum' started by JandN2639, Feb 2, 2017.

  1. mountainbikermark

    mountainbikermark Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    7,454
    Likes Received:
    3,886
    Trophy Points:
    1,563
    Ratings:
    +4,348
    So you rebooted back to normal and they didn't return?
    Was there a notification in the upper panel related to your sd card?
    Try powering off the phone, leave it off about a minute, power back up like normal. Please post back your findings but it sounds from the YouTube app working normally the phone being broken can be eliminated. It sounds like an app, perhaps your launcher. Try going to Phone Settings, scroll down to Default Applications, Tap Home and check one of the stock launchers instead of your aftermarket one. If rotation starts working it's your aftermarket launcher.
    [​IMG]


    Support Our Troops!!!
    Beast Mode 4

    <><
     
    #13 mountainbikermark, Feb 5, 2017
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2017
    • Like Like x 1
  2. JandN2639

    JandN2639 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2017
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    33
    Ratings:
    +7
    We use TouchWiz. Isn't that a stock launcher?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  3. JandN2639

    JandN2639 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2017
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    33
    Ratings:
    +7
    As for the apps, give me at least an hour--I can't get to that phone right now. And thanks!


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  4. mountainbikermark

    mountainbikermark Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    7,454
    Likes Received:
    3,886
    Trophy Points:
    1,563
    Ratings:
    +4,348
    Yes Touch Wiz is the stock launcher. My apologies. I thought whatever y'all were discussing above was a launcher not merely a lock screen.
    Can you try using the stock lockscreen and see if it resolves the issue? And I hope the reboot solved the missing stuff issue as well. Thanks again.

    Support Our Troops!!!
    Beast Mode 4

    <><
     
  5. JandN2639

    JandN2639 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2017
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    33
    Ratings:
    +7
    We use Trend Micro Security and haven't seen the lock screen on this phone in quite a while. Which is the stock lock screen?
    And apps have disappeared. It will take some time to determine which ones.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  6. mountainbikermark

    mountainbikermark Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    7,454
    Likes Received:
    3,886
    Trophy Points:
    1,563
    Ratings:
    +4,348
    On your Trend how does it block apps? I saw this in its description [​IMG] .I'm wondering if that's where your apps are, on the phone but blocked. I know there's a few "app hiders" out there that though they're on the device they're blocked from view so perhaps check Trend to see if they're hidden for some reason.
    If you're not seeing your stock lock screen go to phone settings, lock screen and see if it's listed as "none" .
    Safe Mode should not have deleted anything. It's merely a setting you disable everything not part of the oem phone apps as services.

    Support Our Troops!!!
    Beast Mode 4

    <><
     
  7. JandN2639

    JandN2639 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2017
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    33
    Ratings:
    +7
    Well, the phone had everything prior to Safe Mode. When we rebooted, several home page icons were missing, and so were several apps.
    Apparently Safe Mode resulted in deletions for some reason!


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  8. JandN2639

    JandN2639 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2017
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    33
    Ratings:
    +7
    And I guess it does have a lock screen: we have to type in a PIN after restarting.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  9. mountainbikermark

    mountainbikermark Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    7,454
    Likes Received:
    3,886
    Trophy Points:
    1,563
    Ratings:
    +4,348
  10. JandN2639

    JandN2639 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2017
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    33
    Ratings:
    +7
    The apps also disappeared from the Apps list (the square of dots on the lower right of the Home screen).


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  11. JandN2639

    JandN2639 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2017
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    33
    Ratings:
    +7
    We have updated the Galaxy S7 to Android 7. Some folders are still missing, and when we try to add apps to existing or new folders on the Home screen(s), they disappear shortly afterward. ???


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk