Screen resizing - Big dissapointment

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR Support' started by lmmohr, Mar 8, 2012.

  1. lmmohr
    Offline

    lmmohr New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My biggest complaint with the Verizon Droid Razr is the screen resizing. My old HTC Incredible resized, then reformatted everything. Don't know why Motorola can't fix this.

    The Razr only reformats websites not "optimized for Mobile units" according to Verizon. I still wonder if I've got a bug?

    Now with the latest system upgrade, the dark blue on black headlines on the news reader are almost impossible to read, and I can't change by pinching the resulting web page. Page reformatting on "regular" sites works most times when switching portrait to landscape or back, but not until. What's with this?

    I have a single eye condition for reading and this simply won't work for me.

    Anyone else with this issue?

    Maybe I'll have to go back to the HTG One?
  2. FoxKat
    Offline

    FoxKat DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8,610
    Likes Received:
    822
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    I am sorry to hear you are having difficulties with your RAZR and screen formatting/resizing. I can make some suggestions for you that may help. First, the news application that comes with the RAZR is not the best. There was a better version on earlier phones and I have a link to one that I think may fit your needs. Try http://android.snkbitten.com/apps/GenieWidget.apk. This is a port from the Droid 1 and I like it better (as does most everyone else I've read), perhaps you will too.

    Then as far as the screen resizing, you can pinch to zoom as you wanted, but then you double-tap the screen and it will automatically reformat the page text lines and pics at the size you've zoomed to.

    Try it with a web page and let me know if it works for you. ;)
  3. Insidious
    Offline

    Insidious New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,034
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    The stock Rezound resizes it and then it fits the text to the zoom level so its huge, crisp, and easy to read. Not sure if sense 4.0 on the One X will do it, but I'm guessing it will.

    Sent from my ADR6425LVW using DroidForums
  4. lmmohr
    Offline

    lmmohr New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the response. I couldn't get the .apk file to install. Said it did then can't find on APPS. I'm still stock and not rooted. I'll keep trying.
  5. FoxKat
    Offline

    FoxKat DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8,610
    Likes Received:
    822
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    It will be in your app tray under the name "News and Weather". You can either run it directly or you can add it as a widget on your home screens.

    To install, you need to copy it to your SD card and then simply run it from there with your File Manager. Did you type that link above into your phone's browser? If so, it will be stored in the folder called /mnt/sdcard/download and the file will be geniewidget.apk.

    Once you install it and are able to get it running, you will see it first in the weather screen. Swipe left to see the other headings, or simply tap on the top heading to move to that page. Once on that list, tap one of the stories and it will take you to a webpage for that story. Then tap the Menu button at the bottom, then "More", then select "Settings", then at the top choose Text size, and there will allow you some range from Tiny to Huge. Then right below is Default zoom, and in there you can choose from Far to Close.

    On most webpages that this will take you to, you can pinch out to zoom in, and then double-tap to re-center and word wrap. I was able to get the text large enough that only one or two words fit on each line, making it visible for me from a distance of about 8 feet away.
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2012
  6. lmmohr
    Offline

    lmmohr New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    To install, you need to copy it to your SD card and then simply run it from there with your File Manager. Did you type that link above into your phone's browser? If so, it will be stored in the folder called /mnt/sdcard/download and the file will be geniewidget.apk.

    Funny, it installs and runs but doesn't populate my APPS. I have to go and run the install each time to open it. Don't understand what's happening.

    Anyway, thanks for the info. Nice app.

    Larry
  7. FoxKat
    Offline

    FoxKat DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8,610
    Likes Received:
    822
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    OK Larry, you install it, and it runs, you get to see all the weather and news, but you can't find the actual "News and Weather" app in your app tray? Very strange. Try one of two other possibilities;

    1) Try to add the Widget. Press and hold on a blank area of one of your home screens (you'll need room 1 icon tall and 4 wide), then choose <Widgets>, then scroll down to "News and Weather" and select. You'll then be prompted for a choice, Weather, News, or News and Weather. Choose News and Weather. See if the widget appears and works as expected.

    2) Try adding the icon to the screen as a shortcut. Press and hold on a blank area of one of your home screens (you only need a 1 X 1 icon space), then scroll down to "News and Weather" and select.

    If neither of these work for you, the only other possibility is that you don't have "Unknown sources" selected in the <Menu>, <Settings>, <Applications> section. This might explain all the problems. ;)
  8. scottysize
    Offline

    scottysize Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    68
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Sanger, TX
    I always forget the double tap part. Thanks Kat!
  9. FoxKat
    Offline

    FoxKat DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8,610
    Likes Received:
    822
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    No problem Scotty!

    ...And by the way, how are the Dilithium Crystals holding up, anyway? Make sure you checked the Warp Drive and also that you've shunted the Deuterium from the main Cryo-Pump to the Auxiliary Tank...we need the Impulse Engines running in case the Warp Drive fails.

    ;)
  10. scottysize
    Offline

    scottysize Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    68
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Sanger, TX
    Reminds me of last week's Big Bang Theory. They were paying Star Wars the online game and one of the women called it Star Trek. Big no no! LOL
  11. FoxKat
    Offline

    FoxKat DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8,610
    Likes Received:
    822
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ouch. Not good! Lol.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk
  12. lmmohr
    Offline

    lmmohr New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, strangely enough, it's now showing in my apps. I'd went to check on the "Unknown Sources" selection box (it was), and when I went back to Manage Applications, there it was. Also shows in APPS. Strange delay.

    Anyway, thanks for the help. Mucho Gracias.

    Larry
  13. FoxKat
    Offline

    FoxKat DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8,610
    Likes Received:
    822
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    LOL, well I wish I could take credit for that fix but I'm glad it's working just the same. Glad you like the other app, most people do!

    Cheers!

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk
Search tags for this page

droid pro zoom in on web pages

,
droid razr m doesn't automatically resize pages
,
droid razr m screen zoomed in
,

droid razr pinch zoom

,
droid x2 wont let me resize web pages
,

how to fit to screen picture for wallpaper droid razr maxx

,
huge text
,
new razr maxx, pictures wont fit to screen
,

pictures as wallpaper are too big razor

,

razr how to fit screen resize web page

,

resize screen htc

,
some websites cannot resize screen android tablet
,
when setting wallpaper on s4 wont fit
,
why aren't my facebook photos showing up in contacts
,
why cant i resize the screen on my mobile