1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Screen Redraws!!!

Discussion in 'LithiumMod' started by dgonz, Aug 6, 2010.

  1. dgonz
    Offline

    dgonz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Porterville, CA
    I absolutely hate them! I've tried ADW and now Launcher Pro. I'm tempted to go stock at this point because I can't stand them anymore. Does anyone have any advice on how to avoid or reduce them or can give an opinion on which launcher has the fewest?
  2. joeybarclay
    Offline

    joeybarclay New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    708
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i was having sreen redraws on every rom and launcher. if u download sapphire it has an option called compcache that completely fix my problem and others with redraws
  3. dgonz
    Offline

    dgonz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Porterville, CA
    I haven't tried sapphire I'm really happy with Lithium mod so far. I just toggled with the settings that I didn't know were there on LPP so hopefully that will fix it.

    Thanks for the advice, if it continues I'm going to give the sapphire kernel a try .
  4. 306stang
    Offline

    306stang New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ATL
    redraw???

    icons and widgets disappearing then slowly reappearing???
  5. joeybarclay
    Offline

    joeybarclay New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    708
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yes. i actually have to have a rom that incorperates compcache or my phone has tons of redraw and being stock didnt help
  6. 306stang
    Offline

    306stang New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ATL
    my phone has done that on every single rom except UD. it's the only reason why i'm still on ud instead of sapphire. knowing this, i'll probably switch back!!
  7. Bateluer
    Offline

    Bateluer New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Compcache . . . hmm, haven't tried that yet. I've experienced these issues using both Sapphire and CM6, using jdlfg, sapphire stock, and chevyno1 kernels, under both Launcher Pro and ADW Launcher.
  8. chuckz28
    Offline

    chuckz28 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think there is something wrong with 2.2 that is causing it. I am on stock frg22 with no homescreen replacements and have had redraw delays. Not as bad as when i was using launcherpro or adw on frg01b but it still does it once in a while. Usually when leaving the browser.
  9. Tallica
    Offline

    Tallica Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Compcache on Sapphire, perfect not 1 redraw in 2 days! Used to have them all the time. All Devs should get this in their Roms!
  10. Tanknspank
    Offline

    Tanknspank Beta Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    I think Froyo's memory management has changed since Eclair. Maybe a good swap partition could help too.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  11. YankInDaSouth
    Offline

    YankInDaSouth Theme Developer Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,950
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Sharpsburg, GA
    +1 for the Compcache and Sapphire 1.0 - redraw free for 2+ days ...
  12. Isaiah
    Offline

    Isaiah New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  13. vmann32
    Offline

    vmann32 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Spokane,Wa
    Ok if you go to spare parts and slow animations down it stops redraws.I dropped it to normal but it still redraw.So I moved it slow and it works with no redraws.
  14. meishkov
    Offline

    meishkov New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    957
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sterling Heights, MI
    I'm on Simply Stunning 4.6, how would I go about doing this??

    Also, does anybody know how to fix the browser in 2.2? Like for some reason, everytime a webpage is fully loaded, and I hit the Home button, or click on an e-mail or text message from the notification pulldown, then go back to the browser, the webpage will automatically refresh again. It gets REALLY annoying. And I have NO idea how the hell to fix it!!
  15. TedWilliams
    Offline

    TedWilliams New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Born in Cambridge, MA but now live in Portland, OR
    Thanks a million for this dude! It had been driving me bananas. Its weird that switching the transitions from off to slow would make such a drastic difference. I have absolutely zero redraws now. Man, I was trying everything from removing widgets to never turning my screen off...
  16. Teezy
    Offline

    Teezy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    A House.
    agreed. i wish all Devs would incorporate Compache into their ROMs.. especially JRummy -_- great ROMs and themes but every launcher redraws!
  17. scottb211
    Offline

    scottb211 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Prescott, AZ
    Don't want to switch from LithiumMod

    Yes! I am SOOO glad I searched for this in the forum... I was getting some SERIOUS lag / redraw, and I was freaking. Is it LithiumMod? Is it the Watermarke'd Theme? Is it LauncherPro? Do iI have too many widgets?!?

    Went into spare parts and turned off the window animations and transition animations and... same problem. Changed them both to "slow" and it seems to be better.

    This forum rocks.
  18. joeybarclay
    Offline

    joeybarclay New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    708
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have tryed everything even being 2.0 with nothing but what's on there normaly and I still get bad redraws. nothing works I think my phones screwed up its been like this since 2.1
  19. Shadowclock
    Offline

    Shadowclock New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Turning them off for me worked awesome...so much more responsive :D Thanks a lot for sharing!
  20. Isaiah
    Offline

    Isaiah New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Glad i could help, its not something i figured out by actually knowing what im doing... I was just screwing around trying to lower memory uses and got lucky.
    now im wondering if there are any other apps that are acting badly on lithium?

    anybody know of any?