screen died on conference call

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by dmiller91, Sep 19, 2011.

  1. dmiller91

    dmiller91 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Had my first conference call on the Droid today... Screen went into sleep at some point and I couldn't wake it up... the sound was still working. I tried on/off. I tried holding the on/off down, I tried the hard buttons on the bottom.. nothing. I had to take out the battery.

    What gives?

    When it booted back up, only 30% battery used, so it wasn't a dead battery.
     
  2. MissionImprobable

    MissionImprobable Silver Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    2,040
    Likes Received:
    142
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Ratings:
    +169
    What battery mode do you have set on the phone?
     
  3. dmiller91

    dmiller91 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have data saver on.
     
  4. MissionImprobable

    MissionImprobable Silver Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    2,040
    Likes Received:
    142
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Ratings:
    +169
    No, what battery mode: Maximum, Nighttime, or Performance? If it's not on performance that could be your issue.
     
  5. dmiller91

    dmiller91 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    ah... nighttime saver...
     
  6. MissionImprobable

    MissionImprobable Silver Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    2,040
    Likes Received:
    142
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Ratings:
    +169
    I recommend you download the Quick Settings app and install the Power Control widget on one of your homescreens.. You'll be able to turn syncing off and ciontrol the brightness of your phone, even turn 3G off if you want to. Good app and widget for lessening power usage but still being able to make changes like syncing on the fly.
     
  7. dmiller91

    dmiller91 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    okay... did that, have both in use, thanks. I'm worried to try again because I need to be able to mute/unmute to speak.. and I can't if the screen dies. I turned the screen to "always on" too... which could be a problem when I want it to sleep.

    Can't figure out why it would freeze when the battery still had 70% juice, or so it said!
     
  8. MissionImprobable

    MissionImprobable Silver Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    2,040
    Likes Received:
    142
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Ratings:
    +169
    It's a bug in the coding for the alternate battery modes. As long as you're in performance it should be fine, but always on should take care of it as well.
     
  9. dmiller91

    dmiller91 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    sooo.. it looks like this bug is present even when I don't do a conference call. Yesterday the screen locked and the power button again wouldn't "wake" it, and I had to take out the battery. Are there any software updates for this????

    I need to take off nighttime saver for now and switch it to Performance? Then maybe I can let the screen dim after 60 minutes?

    ugh!!! frustrating!
     
  10. MissionImprobable

    MissionImprobable Silver Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    2,040
    Likes Received:
    142
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Ratings:
    +169
    Yeah, set it to performance and use Power Control to turn your syncing on and off as needed and Quick Settings if you need to make other adjustments. You should be able to let the phone sleep without issue then. Hope that works.
     
  11. dmiller91

    dmiller91 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks... changed it now. I'm assuming the synching button is the circular arrows. I'm supposed to know that :)
     
  12. MissionImprobable

    MissionImprobable Silver Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    2,040
    Likes Received:
    142
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Ratings:
    +169
    Yep, that's the one.