Screen dead zone

jfmoseley410

Reaction score
I'm brand new to Droids and to this forum as well. I've spent some time today reading and searching through the various posts but have not found a description of my issue. I will say that I suspect that it is a hardware failure of some sort.

The problem I am having is dead zone. A portion of the left section of my screen does not respond to touch. Consequentially, any button or icon that is in that section does not respond as well. What I am doing in the interim is switching to a wide view, which moves some of the icons into another zone. This does nothing of course for the menu button, which simply does nothing at all.

As I stated earlier, I suspect, or fear may be a better word, that this is a hardware failure and nothing sort of repair or replacement will suffice. What I am hoping is that someone out there has found either a cure or a work around that would allow me to have the necessary menu button. It is very hard to do anything with applications without it.

Thank you for any suggestions!

Jon

droidphone23

Reaction score
That is probably a malfuntion in the system so if you havn't already then go to your local verizon store and ask them to do a system reboot as this may delete all your apps it may help but I make no promises that it will work because I've seen an adroid phone not work with the reboot. Hope this helped.

Sent from my Droid using DroidForums

louy99

Reaction score
Sounds like a broken digitizer to me. They sell those online but it involves taking the whole phone apart. If you've had the phone less than a year or have insurance, id take it to Verizon and get a replacement

Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums

OP
J

jfmoseley410

Reaction score
Thank you for your reply. Unfortunately, I bought this phone off Craigslist so I am sure the warranty will not be honored. How difficult is it to replace a digitizer?

louy99

Reaction score