Scanning for Wi-Fi every 5 Seconds

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy S3' started by papat912, Jun 18, 2013.

  1. papat912

    papat912 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Pembroke, Georgia
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is it normal for my GS3 to scan for Wi-Fi networks every 5 seconds even when I'm connected to a network? Is this a great battery drain?
     
  2. leeshor

    leeshor Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    4,370
    Likes Received:
    1,442
    Trophy Points:
    358
    Location:
    Norcross, GA - USA
    Ratings:
    +1,681
    If you are connected with a solid connection that isn't having a problem it isn't normal at all. You may want to take a look at my WiFi link in the signature below to see if something there corrects the problem. My guesses are either interference or a channel overlap.
     
  3. papat912

    papat912 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Pembroke, Georgia
    Ratings:
    +0
    I change routers to my old stable router and also changed router channel, and still have network scanning every 5 seconds on my GS3.
     
  4. leeshor

    leeshor Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    4,370
    Likes Received:
    1,442
    Trophy Points:
    358
    Location:
    Norcross, GA - USA
    Ratings:
    +1,681
    There may be some interferrence or channel conflict. Check the link in my sig for some suggestions. If none of those work/help the only thing I could suggest would be a factory reset.
     
  5. papat912

    papat912 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Pembroke, Georgia
    Ratings:
    +0
    Where is "my WiFi link in the signature" that you are talking about?
     
  6. leeshor

    leeshor Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    4,370
    Likes Received:
    1,442
    Trophy Points:
    358
    Location:
    Norcross, GA - USA
    Ratings:
    +1,681
  7. papat912

    papat912 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Pembroke, Georgia
    Ratings:
    +0
    LEESHOR, I may be a little dense but I could not fine any info on, the link you gave me, as to why my GS3 scanning Wi-Fi networks every 5 seconds.
     
  8. dezymond

    dezymond Tech Support Mod
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    11,869
    Likes Received:
    1,294
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +1,447
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Galaxy s7 Edge
    I would power cycle both the router and the modem. See if that helps.
     
  9. papat912

    papat912 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Pembroke, Georgia
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've done that many times.
     
  10. mountainbikermark

    mountainbikermark Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    6,676
    Likes Received:
    2,959
    Trophy Points:
    518
    Ratings:
    +3,378
    Something that made a huge difference for me was settings, Wi-Fi, tap the Wi-Fi icon, long press the connected network, modify network, scroll down to the toe if connection, chose static ip, tapped save and my Wi-Fi on a finicky router is SO much more dependable.

    Support Our Troops!!!
    <><
    A Rezound phone was used for this Tapatalk post
     
  11. leeshor

    leeshor Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    4,370
    Likes Received:
    1,442
    Trophy Points:
    358
    Location:
    Norcross, GA - USA
    Ratings:
    +1,681
    Did you install WiFi Analyzer to see what it tells you about the WiFi? Also, I'm not clear one whether you have tried a different location, like a public hotspot.
     
  12. papat912

    papat912 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Pembroke, Georgia
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mountainbikermark, that didn't work. And yes I've tried other hotspot locations and the Wi-Fi Network still scans every 5 seconds.
     
Search tags for this page

galaxy s3 constantly scanning wifi

,
galaxy s3 wifi constantly scanning
,
galaxy s4 wifi keeps scanning
,
galaxy tab 3 keeps scanning for wifi
,
galaxy tab keeps scanning wifi
,
how to stop galaxy tab 3 from scanning
,

samsung galaxy tab 3 wifi keeps scanning

,
samsung tablet keeps scanning for wifi
,
samsung tablet keeps scanning wifi
,
why does my samsung tablet keep scanning for wifi