SBF to root and to unroot

Discussion in 'Tech Guides for root users' started by christim, Apr 20, 2010.

  1. Coots

    Coots Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    It appears to be working this second time around, wish me luck :)
     
  2. zevoman

    zevoman Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Followed the steps and it worked perfectly for me. Thanks for the great write-up! Quick question in regards to rooting - according to the steps listed, we are to "wipe data/factory reset" before we install the "update.zip". Simple logic would suggest that this step will in fact erase everything off of the phone before an updated, rooted 2.1 is installed. Is this correct? Is there no other way to root without wiping everything? I really don't want to have to reinstall the 60+ apps I have on my Driod, let alone all the settings, etc...
     
  3. christim

    christim Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,094
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    New England
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi zevoman,
    The person who created the update.zip file, Pete, who also created the Bugless Beast series of roms provided those directions.

    If the flashing of update.zip wipes everything anyways then your apps still are not saved by skipping the "wipe data/factory reset" step.

    Usually it is a good idea to do that wipe of cache and data when switching roms. However, due to having just made a nandroid backup you can skip that step and see what happens. If it turns out not so good you just do a nandroid recovery of what you just backed up and perform the wipe the next time.

    Astro, free in the market, will take just about all of your install APK files and back them up to your sdcard. You can then reinstall them later. While settings within each app might be gone you won't have to write down all the apps you have, go to the market to download them again, and then reinstall them one by one. Astro will let you install them from the sdcard.

    Once rooted, an app like Titanium Backup will let you back up all your settings, apps, etc and restore as you move from rom to rom even though you do a complete wipe inbetween.

    When moving from rom 1.1 to same-rom 1.2 you don't have to do that complete wipe and all your settings will be intact.
     
  4. Codiusprie

    Codiusprie Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I still have not figured out this issue. Do i need to rename the file? I've tried it a few different ways and still no dice. I am so ready to root my phone.
     
  5. christim

    christim Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,094
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    New England
    Ratings:
    +2

    ahh, thought you had it figured out.

    From the screenshot in post 1, you should have the phone displaying in the bottom half in the Model column. You can't install the wrong drivers so that won't be the issue....but they did install right? If not, click the Config link and change your settings in deviceid. It does not matter if the phone is connected via usb and in up-dpad powered on mode first or rsd lite is turned on first.
     
  6. zevoman

    zevoman Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Okay, so if I understand you correctly, I can at least backup all the apps using ASTRO (which I already have - what a great app!) And you are correct, I did just make a Nandroid backup, so I guess I can always go back.

    Thank you for your help. Let's see how this goes!
     
  7. Codiusprie

    Codiusprie Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    No worries! This is actually the first time I've asked the question. I thought I had installed the drivers but ill try it all again and report back. Thanks so much for the quick response.
     
  8. Codiusprie

    Codiusprie Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I am still having the same issue. The phone is picked up fine by RSD Lite, it is the SBF file that isn't being recognized. None of the information appears in the right hand box and when I press start it just gives me an error message. I have tried moving the file around various places on my computer and still no luck.

    I am running 64 bit Windows 7 with Admin access. I uninstalled and reinstalled the 64 bit Motorola Drivers. I don't really know what else to try. It is pretty frustrating.
     
  9. Crazycatlady

    Crazycatlady Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had the same problem. I renamed the file to 1.sbf and it worked. If you put the cursor in the filename after you select it and randomly delete characters, the start button will appear and disappear. I don't know if it has to be a certain number of characters......hey, I don't know anything about this. But renaming it worked for me.
     
  10. Codiusprie

    Codiusprie Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hrm. I did try renaming it and such. The "start" button is not grayed out but it still won't do anything but give me an error message. Lame.
     
  11. Crazycatlady

    Crazycatlady Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    This is my first attempt at creating a nandroid backup. When I first try to create one, it says "Attempting nandroid backup" and the little striped line at the bottom is moving, but nothing happens. I've even let it go a half hour. I have to pull the battery. Then I boot it holding the "x" again and try again to create a backup and it says "ERROR: Nandroid exited with status 32."

    Not sure if it is because I pulled the battery, but it didn't give me any choice. Anyway, if I cannot get this to work, since I am rooted, can I just use Astro or Titanium backup? Does it do the same thing? Thank you in advance.

    Edit: I started over by re downloading everything and doing the whole process again. Everything seems to be working now. on to the good stuff!!!! Thank you all!
     
  12. Crazycatlady

    Crazycatlady Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Like I said, I don't know much, but I went into windows explorer and renamed the file 1.sbf then found it using rslite. I clicked on the entry where my phone was so the information was up in the phone properties and clicked start. It flashed the file over and rebooted my phone but then told me to manually boot it, so I rebooted it into bootloader mode and it finished successfully.
     
Search tags for this page

droid 1 sbf

,
how to apply themes for unrooted android phones
,
root phone sbf
,
root sbf
,
root.sbf
,
sbf
,
sbf recovery sbf complete root
,

sbf root

,
sbf rooteado
,
sbf to root and unroot