say "google" to launch voice search

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR HD' started by smfoley1, Sep 13, 2013.

  1. smfoley1
    Offline

    smfoley1 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    so I noticed this setting on my phone and it is checked but when I say "google" nothing happens...
    The setting is found when you touch the google search box and it brings up your cards etc. sroll all the way down and touch the three dots in the bottom right corner. settings>voice

    I thought it might be that feature we are seeing touted for the Motorola X but it doesnt seem to work at all...anyone know anything about this?
     
  2. jimmythegent
    Offline

    jimmythegent Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    Messages:
    519
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Common problem. Happens to me all the time very frustrating
     
  3. FoxKat
    Offline

    FoxKat Resident Novelist...LOL! Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    10,052
    Likes Received:
    1,592
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +1,652
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo, and Nexus 6!

    Can you be more specific? What "google search box" is it that you are hitting? I get the prompt to "search or say Google" in the top of the Google Now window when I either hit the Google search icon (apps tray), or when I hit the Google search Widget from the main screen. It may be that you didn't activate Google now?
     
  4. sajokaz
    Offline

    sajokaz Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    934
    Likes Received:
    257
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +279
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Droid Maxx
    The way I understand it is, the voice activated Google search is only available on the Moto X and new Droid line, which have an active listening feature. On other phones, like yours, you have to manually open Google Search or Google Now, then you can say "Google" and speak your search command. Hope that helps answer your question.

    Sent from my XT907 using Tapatalk 2
     
  5. leeshor
    Offline

    leeshor DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    3,119
    Likes Received:
    491
    Trophy Points:
    148
    Location:
    Norcross, GA - USA
    Ratings:
    +501
    There should be a microphone on the Gogle search bar or on some keyboards that will also activate it if Google Now has been enabled.
     
  6. sajokaz
    Offline

    sajokaz Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    934
    Likes Received:
    257
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +279
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Droid Maxx
    True, but correct me if I am wrong here, leeshor. You still have to push the microphone button first, before you can speak commands & searches? I thought the OP was asking if the Razr HD can be totally voice activated like the Moto X.
     
  7. leeshor
    Offline

    leeshor DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    3,119
    Likes Received:
    491
    Trophy Points:
    148
    Location:
    Norcross, GA - USA
    Ratings:
    +501
    You are correct. I was just offering an alternative. I have so many of the Google Now features turned off there may still be a way but maybe not.
     
  8. sajokaz
    Offline

    sajokaz Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    934
    Likes Received:
    257
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +279
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Droid Maxx
    Thanks leeshor. I also have a lot of the Google Now features & cards disabled, use it just for basic voice searches. I don't think there is any way for phones other than the Moto X & new Droid's to open the search feature by voice commands alone. I think we have to open Google search manually (using any of the available options), then we can voice search. From what I have read, the newer phones have a chip dedicated to ''active listening" and are always listening for the "OK, Google" command. I am pretty sure the Razr line does not have that technology. Yet??? Maybe we will see it eventually?

    If this information is incorrect, someone please let me know.
     
  9. smfoley1
    Offline

    smfoley1 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes this is correct..took a few minutes to figure it out but this is exactly how it works on the Razr's....
     
  10. PereDroid
    Offline

    PereDroid Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,364
    Likes Received:
    245
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Ratings:
    +251
    Current Phone Model:
    RAZR HD
    And no we won't be getting that feature.
     
  11. smfoley1
    Offline

    smfoley1 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    but, will we get Kit Kat?
     
Search tags for this page
droid razr wont search when i say google
,

google search use voice search nothing happens

,
launch voice search
,
motorola droid razr max hd ok google
,
okay google not working on droid razr
,
say google
,
say google to launch search
,

say google to launch voice search

,
search or say gogle
,
when i say ok google nothing happens