Sapphire 1.0 Quadrant scores

Discussion in 'cvpcs' started by velocity92c, Aug 4, 2010.

  1. velocity92c
    Offline

    velocity92c New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Edit : this is from the Sapphire website. Always make sure to read before asking a silly question :). Link to download the files mentioned is in the 2nd post of this thread.

    Stagefright vs Opencore In Sapphire 1.0.0, I have disabled the stagefright media player and defaulted back to opencore. This was done because there were reports that opencore produced better quality audio on several applications that stream mediaover the internet. Sadly, opencore also takes more time to decode H.264 video, an item that Quadrant uses to determine its score. Thus, the score suffers dramatically due to the use of opencore over stagefright.

    IT IS IMPORTANT TO NOTE THAT THIS LOW QUADRANT SCORE DOES NOT MEAN THAT THE PHONE RUNS POORLY. OPENCORE vs STAGEFRIGHT WILL ONLY AFFECT MULTIMEDIA PLAYBACK, NOT OVERALL PHONE PERFORMANCE. IT IS A PERFECT EXAMPLE OF WHY A BENCHMARK SCORE SHOULD NOT BE THE END ALL AND BE ALL OF HOW FAST YOUR DEVICE IS.

    Regardless, for those who would rather run with stagefright, I have developed an update.zip t

    Original post :

    I don't know why but my QS score absolutely plummeted upon upgrading. I can't get over 700 now clocked at 1.2ghz. My phone hangs during the h.264 encoding test whereas it never has before, but my fps is also significantly lower on each gfx test as well. Anyway, I thought I would see what scores others are getting. Post your QS scores here.
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2010
  2. pdroid
    Offline

    pdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly
  3. velocity92c
    Offline

    velocity92c New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wow, I feel silly. I actually already read that but somehow I either missed the bolded, capitalized part or it didn't sink in. LMAO. Thanks for the link. Mods, feel free to delete thread.
  4. pdroid
    Offline

    pdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly
    On the contrary, I hope people read your thread so this question doesn't get asked a lot of times. ;)
  5. cvpcs
    Offline

    cvpcs Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    for the time being i have stickied this thread, as i think it's important for people to notice and understand what is going on here
  6. The Physician
    Offline

    The Physician New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    In the bold text, it should be affect. Just saying...
  7. cvpcs
    Offline

    cvpcs Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thank you for pointing that out. i always get the two confused. the post has been updated :)
  8. The Physician
    Offline

    The Physician New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Of course. Was hoping to successfully point that out without sounding like a douche. =P
  9. velocity92c
    Offline

    velocity92c New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Since this has been stickied I updated the OP.
  10. madformoney
    Offline

    madformoney New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm just wondering would this also affect the performance of rock player when playing .avi files?
  11. EnJoY
    Offline

    EnJoY New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    I ran the update to switch back to stagefright.

    I then ran Quadrant twice, after a fresh install, with no widgets, cpu speed at 1100/1100, performance governor.

    I scored just about 1400, which is certainly very good, but about 100 points shy of the 1533 I got after a fresh install of Lithium mod at the same settings. I have yet to find a ROM that scores higher than JRums.

    I'd like to try and understand better from the developer, if you could, as to why the scores can vary like this between roms using the same codecs.

    Also, I was using a ChevyNo1 1100MHz LV kernel with Lith Mod.
  12. pdroid
    Offline

    pdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly
    How has your experience with Sapphire been, slightly lower quadrant scores notwithstanding?
  13. EnJoY
    Offline

    EnJoY New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    So far, great. I enjoy the fact that I don't have to use SetCPU anymore which frees up a little extra RAM.

    However, the P3 based roms do run a bit hotter than Chevy's. Also, the ADW Launcher just feels noticeably slower than LauncherPro in terms of menu responsiveness.

    Other than that, AdFree gives me Force closes, but it did in LithMod as well. Other apps have worked fine and the rom seems quick and stable.

    I may try launcher pro on it and see how that goes.

    Edit: Also, I really miss the "allinone" script that Lithium Mod has. With it I can do all sort of commands that normally I wouldn't be able to run with my limited terminal/linux knowledge.
    Last edited: Aug 5, 2010
  14. pc747
    Online

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,889
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    You mean cvpcs based rom....made from source right.
  15. wingdo
    Offline

    wingdo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    I think you meant P3 based KERNELS there and not ROMs. ;) (and only portions are based on P3, I have no heat / speed issues)

    In ADW settings make the following changes:
    Screen Preferences:
    Auto Stretch = unchecked
    Desktop Scrolling Speed = 170
    Desktop Overshoot = 0

    System Preferences:
    Read "wallpaper Hack and Use Screen Cache's description and check / uncheck based upon your setup
    Disable Scrollable Widget Support unless you *need* it

    That should solve any ADW issues you think you have