Sapphire 0.8.4 is stuck at Android Logo

Discussion in 'cvpcs' started by ty_, Jul 13, 2010.

  1. ty_

    ty_ Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I decided to get the newest update to sapphire due to my curiosity.
    I restored my 0.7.0 backup using RM and set out to update.
    I choose the P3Droid 900LV Kernel. Black Bar. Market Hack. and Google Add-ons. Also checked Wipe Data and Cache
    RM went and did it's thing. once everything was finished it loaded up the Welcome Screen and when I go to click the Android nothing happens...

    Any help?
     
  2. nerdbox08

    nerdbox08 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think it's because of goggle apps or the nextheme.

    I attempted too flash through RM severally times with no luck, with the 900lv, gapps, market hack and nex theme. I booted into recovery, installed the rom and the gapps before rebooting, rebooted: boot went fine, then I booted back into recovery and applied drop theme. Now I am golden.

    I also didn't attempt the market fix.
     
  3. BayouFlyFisher

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,960
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    I would try reinstalling the Rom and the gapps only. After that was up and running and my apps were back, I would do the others one at a time.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  4. 10roller

    10roller New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    thats what happened to me when i installed over 7.0 without wiping. try another wipe and install if you havent got it working already
     
  5. ty_

    ty_ Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks for the suggestions.
    i can skip the welcome screen but then i get no service.
    i'm going back to CM6. making a backup. then wiping data/cache and then installing 0.8.4 without market hack and default bar
     
  6. christim

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,100
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    New England
    Ratings:
    +2
    backups are your friend:)

    I backed up my previous rom

    I installed Sapphire .8.4 let it boot up, set up the gapps update.zip then rebooted and installed that.

    Market updates 90% of my apps.

    Setup smoked glass no fonts update.zip and rebooted to recovery

    backed up again.

    Installed theme just fine.

    I'll do a backup before any kernal, theme, or rom install. If it messes up its that much easier to get back to where you were.

    My market is still sluggish, was ever since I moved from SS to Sapphire but it also was sluggish before for a bit too, either on SS4.1 or on the stock rooted Froyo rom.

    So far everything else is looking good. We've got some good devs out there, making roms, kernels, themes, etc. Thanks!
     
  7. ty_

    ty_ Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    they are! but what does it mean when it says the MD5 isn't valid?
     
  8. dlwhtrose

    dlwhtrose DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,797
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    God forsaken desert, wishing to be back in Dixie
    Ratings:
    +4
    To the OP, I was having the same problem. I tried to install just the rom and the google apps (no kernel) and it worked beautifully. I then restored my apps and themed. All running great. I am even liking the stock kernel. I will think about a custom kernel later.

    So try installing without the custom kernel and see if that fixes the boot up issues for you.
     
  9. ty_

    ty_ Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    THANK YOU VERY MUCH.
    so here is my process:
    had to go back to my CM6 backup.
    contemplated doing it again if i knew there was gonna be more trouble.
    but i decided to just do all the basics and worry about everything else later.
    i downloaded from there the sapphire 0.8.4 Froyo from RM.
    [[side question. where can i figure out what kernel i have? i know in the phone status and such it'll tell me my version but how do I decode that into laymen terms? i'm sure it was 900 LV but how can i be positive?]]

    after that i did the DEFAULT and ONLY Google Apps.
    Once loaded I did ANOTHER backup and Wipe Data and Cache.

    In essence. what i did differently from before was:
    CM6 -> Sapphire
    INSTEAD OF:
    CM6->0.7.0->Upgrade->Wipe Data->0.8.4->STUCK ON LOGO

    hope i helped someone and i hope someone can help me! dancedroid
     
  10. 52brandon

    52brandon Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,019
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +19
    kernel, just go into setcpu and turn it all the way up. Wont say if its SV or LV but you'll get the speed
     
  11. ty_

    ty_ Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    i guess that works. i'd still like to know a way if its LV or SV
     
  12. 52brandon

    52brandon Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,019
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +19
    if you just got the stock kernel in the ROM, I'm like 95% sure its 1ghz LV
     
  13. ty_

    ty_ Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    through ROM Manager? noo they gave you the option and i choose either 800 or 900 LV and i ended up choosing 800 but now i've got find out how to get the 900Mhz...
     
  14. Tanknspank

    Tanknspank Beta Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    The release page on the wiki has a link to the specific kernels for sapphire made by p3droid. Those should cover any need you have.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  15. blumpkinblake

    blumpkinblake Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Spanaway, WA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Happened to me to. Then I wiped everything including SD card and my droid is faster than ever now!
     
Search tags for this page

how to fix sapphire logo stuck