Sapphire 0.8.4 Instability

Discussion in 'cvpcs' started by AuroEdge, Jul 16, 2010.

  1. AuroEdge

    AuroEdge Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have not had much luck using any of the Froyo custom ROMs. I've installed Sapphire 0.7.0 and 0.8.4 using SPRecovery and then ClockworkMod. Neither gave me good results. I formatted boot, system, data, cache, sd-ext and then installed the ROM. My Droid locks up randomly and I get a ton of force closes. Maybe I'm doing something wrong. Or are all those people who say they have no issues lying?
     
  2. 52brandon

    52brandon Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,019
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +19
    lol, it's not some vast conspiracy to get you on a ROM that sucks. Did you try re-downloading the ROM? How about ROM manager and PC downloads? I know my phone hates the LV kernels, but they didn't cause FCs... try wiping data and cache after flashing the ROM as well
     
  3. AuroEdge

    AuroEdge Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    And here I thought the rumors were true! Truth be told I think it has something to do with the Media Scanner. Most of my music and pictures wouldn't show up in the Music & Gallery apps no matter what I tried. I went back to Android 2.1 yesterday and had no problems with crashing or my missing media.

    I initially used ROM manager and moved on to manual flashing when that didn't work out. I might try wiping the data and cache after flashing the ROM idea when a new build is released. I had issues with every release from Bugless Beast to CyanogenMOD to even Sapphire.
     
  4. wingdo

    wingdo Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,036
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Chicago
    Ratings:
    +1
    You are wiping data and cache BEFORE doing the updates correct?
     
  5. mkraffert

    mkraffert Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had similar issues with Sapphire. Flashed a standard voltage kernel and the problems went away. Something about the included kernel my phone didn't like.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  6. christim

    christim Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,100
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    New England
    Ratings:
    +2
    If you want to test it takes only a couple of minutes to do a full nandroid backup (advanced and check everything off) and then wipe data/cache 3 times (does this really help? I know it sure can't hurt). Reinstall and before putting your apps on see if its flaky. The only issue I've had with froyo is the market being slow. On both SS and Sapphire (and I'm still on its default kernel) the problem went away after a couple days and I'm pretty sure I did nothing to fix it.

    If it doesn't help just flash back onto the phone the backup you just created.
     
  7. Johnly

    Johnly Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    I am not lying...good luck with your process
    Sent from the Droid
     
  8. Skull One

    Skull One Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    759
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Use a standard/medium voltage kernel. Your results are classic symptoms of a voltage issue. My signature has a link that explains the "whys".
     
  9. BayouFlyFisher

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,959
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    I agree that you should try a different kernel. We all know some Droids will not run with a kernel that is oc'd above 1Ghz, well I think the same may be true for the lower end. Some Droids may not run well with a kernel that has a slot at 125mhz. Try one of P3Droid's other kernels or try a Chevy kernel.

    Good luck

    BTW, I have been lying about how stable 0.8.4 is on my Droid. I tell people it's totally stable when the truth is it's "INSANELY" stable. No lagging, no reboots, no FC's and all that while running at 1.25Ghz.
     
  10. wingdo

    wingdo Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,036
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Chicago
    Ratings:
    +1
    I too agree it's the kernel, I'd try one of the 800MHz ones first. While I am not 100% positive, I thought I was told the default stock kernel's lowest speed is 125MHz, if that's correct I would think every Droid can handle the 125 slot. ;)
     
  11. dlwhtrose

    dlwhtrose Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,821
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    God forsaken desert, wishing to be back in Dixie
    Ratings:
    +33
    Mine has been stable when I stick with the stock kernel. However everytime I try putting a P3 1.2 lv kernel on (the one that was built for sapphire) I start getting random reboots into boot loops. Guess I am stuck with the stock kernel
     
  12. Skull One

    Skull One Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    759
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Every Droid can handle 125Mhz as long as the voltage is correct.