Sapphire 0.7.0 Problems

Discussion in 'cvpcs' started by MonkeyTime, Jul 5, 2010.

  1. cvpcs

    cvpcs Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    agreed, be sure to back up. the issue you most likely had was due to the fact that the patch essentially wipes all of the gapps and reinstalls them. for the most part this is fine, but on occasion it causes a hiccup in the system and for some reason the "com.google.settings" provider "disappears", once that happens there is no way to fix it without either a.) doing a data wipe, or b.) restoring from a backup.

    serveitup911: i'm sorry that you had a bad experience and i'm adding a warning to the main page as soon as i'm done typing this. i'm glad you were able to resolve it though :) if the patch isn't working for you, i would suggest just doing what others have done and copying the VoiceSearch.apk and NetworkLocation.apk files over manually, so that the google apps dont' get overwritten.
     
  2. serveitup911

    serveitup911 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for your response, cvpcs. I will go ahead and manually replace the network location. I think I will wipe again before I install your next release, whenever that is.

    I have a feeling that the market issues people are having will be sorted out when Verizon pushes 2.2.
     
  3. mkraffert

    mkraffert Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've run into 2 problems with this ROM. I love what I've seen in it, but the 2 problems are keepign me from running it for long periods.

    Problem 1 - Market force closes. I installed, and wiped and when I open the market, after a few minutes it force closes. Then it keeps force closing. I've tried installing the market fix, but that didn't help. I've wiped and reinstalled with the market fix, no better. I've tried several times, and always get the same problem.

    Problem 2 - I cannot install Google Maps.

    Does anyone have a fix for these issues? I'd love to run this ROM because it seems really fast and smooth, but I'm just not having any luck with it. :(
     
  4. obededom

    obededom Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0

    are you wiping via ADB or clockwork partitions menu?

    also try deleting 2 files from your SD card before booting the new ROM: the files named "Android" and "LOST.DIR"

    so I would (in order)
    1. boot into recovery
    2. perform wipe
    3. mount SD card
    4. delete file folders
    5 unmount SD card
    6. reboot

    apart from formatting the SD card, that's about a clean of a wipe as your gonna get to install from
     
  5. Honky Kong 64

    Honky Kong 64 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try this page:

    releases:sapphire-0.7.0 [CVPCS Sapphire Wiki]
     
  6. MonkeyTime

    MonkeyTime Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    East Troy, WI
    Ratings:
    +0
    Everything except voice search seems to be working for me now.

    CVPCS, I tried extracting, copying over, and installing the .apk and all I get is "Application not installed" each time.

    Any other ideas?
     
  7. Tanknspank

    Tanknspank Beta Team
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,501
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    You can't just install it. You have to paste it into /system/apps/ and change the permissions. Have you tried the gapps fix?
     
  8. cereal killer

    cereal killer Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    11,255
    Likes Received:
    1,276
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +1,423
    Current Phone Model:
    Nokia Lumia Icon
    and don't forget the reboot :)
     
  9. MAzing87

    MAzing87 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    You aren't the only one. I ended up going back to 6.2 because the market wouldn't work for me. I still don't have maps on my phone, and Ive tried everything suggested so far. :icon_evil:
     
  10. mkraffert

    mkraffert Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Ratings:
    +0
    This fixed it! The only thing different was deleting the LOST.DIR. I haven't heard of doing that before, but it works and I'll take it! Thank You!!
     
  11. pappy53

    pappy53 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    I installed Sapphire.7, and now I can't do things in ROM Manager. Tried to flash CW recovery, and got "error occurred while trying to run privileged commands". Same thing with fix permissions and flash alternate recovery. I went back to BB.4, and everything works, so it must be a Sapphire problem. Anyone else?
    And yes, I did re-install Sapphire, and had same results.
     
  12. dmacleo

    dmacleo Premium Member
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,479
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Etna,ME
    Ratings:
    +0
    did you install through rom manager or through d/l to sd card?
    I went from BB .4 to this with no issues but I did not use rom manager to do it.