Sans-Activation

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by banana989, Nov 9, 2009.

1. banana989

banana989 New Member

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, I'm an Android developer and would like to test my builds on a physical Droid. Does anybody know how to get around the "required" activation via VZW? I am 100% fine with just using WiFi.

2. otaku

otaku Member

Ratings:
    +0
    Touch the upper corner of the screen in this order:

Upper-left
    Upper-right
    Lower-right
    Lower-left

Should be clockwise from upper-left. I have tested this on two phones and it works.

3. banana989

banana989 New Member

Ratings:
    +0
    This is huge! Thanks for letting me in on this little known secret. I thought you were messing with me at first =)

4. lulu024

lulu024 New Member

Ratings:
    +0
    Many thanks ... you've no idea. :*

5. SoonerDude

SoonerDude New Member

Ratings:
    +0
    Does anyone know if the GPS will work without activating the phone first? My buddy wants to buy a Droid 1 from ebay to use as an wifi Internet/GPS device, he likes it better than the ipod touch he has for those types of things, but he doesn't want to spend the money first without knowing the GPS will work, I've already confirmed in another forum that the wifi and market will work, just can't get a positive answer on the GPS.

6. Se7enLC

Se7enLC Active Member

Ratings:
    +0
    I am fairly confident that GPS will NOT work. Here's my test:
    1). Turn off GPS and put phone into airplane mode
    2). Turn on ONLY the GPS (while still in airplane mode)
    3). Wait for it to get a location fix
    4). Keep waiting. It will actually NEVER get a fix until you take it out of airplane mode.
    5). As soon as you take it out of airplane mode, it will be able to get a GPS fix. Even if there is ZERO signal.
    6). Once it has a fix, you can put it back into airplane mode, and the GPS will continue to function.

I'm not sure what the reasoning is behind this behavior. I have some theories: