Samsung Galaxy S III Got a Boost to RAM to Make it 'Future Proof' for Jelly Bean

Discussion in 'Android News' started by dgstorm, Jun 28, 2012.

  1. dgstorm

    dgstorm Editor in Chief Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    1,750
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +1,785
    [​IMG]

    Apparently, Samsung wasn't taking any risks with the Galaxy S III phone as far as being compatible for the future with Android 4.1/Jelly Bean. According to a report over at The Verge, Samsung wasn't 100% sure what the final hardware specs of Jelly Bean would be, so to make sure their new flagship phone stayed "future proof" they upped the RAM to 2GB just to accomodate any eventuality. The source of their info was not able to give them any details of how long it will be before the SGS3 will get Jelly Bean, but since it isn't dramatically different than Ice Cream Sandwich, it is entirely possible that it may not take too long. At least Samsung can be rest-assured that the hardware is more than capable. Kudos to Sammy for being forward thinking.

    Source: S3Forums via The Verge
     
  2. tjk629

    tjk629 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,035
    Likes Received:
    65
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +65
    I think it was a good move. I mean better safe then sorry right? Plus, I don't think it made it any expensive for Samsung.
     
  3. nikecar

    nikecar Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,238
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +19
    Haven't some already been delivered? What about those that have been handed out or made already???
     
  4. johnomaz

    johnomaz Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,580
    Likes Received:
    326
    Trophy Points:
    148
    Location:
    Central Valley, California
    Ratings:
    +333
    Have to wonder what is next for Android in terms of features past JB. Exciting stuff.
     
  5. fredphoesh

    fredphoesh New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    My SGSIII has one gig of ram... so does the Nexus that is being upgraded... so that is nonsense.
     
  6. pdroid

    pdroid Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Philly
    Ratings:
    +7
    As does the nexus 7. This story doesn't make any sense.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using Tapatalk 2
     
  7. Beka27

    Beka27 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,458
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Cleveland Ohio
    Ratings:
    +6
    I feel like I'm a little less concerned about being capable for JB and more concerned for "K" and whatever comes after. We may see people holding onto their S3s for a longer period of time (3 years+) so it would be nice to know that after JB the S3 will still be able to receive updates.
     
  8. jseah

    jseah Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    978
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +25
    I think that all depends on when and where you got your SGSIII. I guess that you got your's as an unlocked model from the UK or some other European country? When the SGSIII was introduced in London, it came with 1 GB of RAM. So the European models (since they were the first ones released) only came with 1 GB of RAM. The Korean models, as well as the ones being sold through US carriers (since they aren't being released until this week), all come with 2 GB of RAM. I guess this is when being the first one on the block to get a new device may not necessarily be a good thing.
     
  9. _33

    _33 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    Ratings:
    +3
    I thought the US version had the extra RAM because the LTE chip wasn't capable with the quad core. So, we dual core and double RAM.


    Make sense?
     
  10. trueislander

    trueislander New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    NC, USA
    Ratings:
    +1
    It does make sense, especially since you're correct!
     
  11. kodiak799

    kodiak799 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,967
    Likes Received:
    284
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Ratings:
    +296
    Maybe not jelly bean, but eventually Android will merge with Chrome OS and then the ram might be needed to run a sort of virtual desktop on an external monitor.
     
Search tags for this page

best ram booster for galaxy s3

,
galaxy s3 future proof
,
galaxy s3 ram booster
,
how future proof is the samsung galaxy s3
,

is samsung galaxy s3 future proof

,
is the samsung galaxy s3 future proof
,
ram booster for samsung s3
,
samsung galaxy 3.best ram.booster
,
samsung galaxy s3 future proof
,

samsung galaxy s3 ram booster