Samsung Galaxy Nexus Overclock

Discussion in 'Galaxy Nexus Development' started by thisiswang, Dec 18, 2011.

  1. thisiswang

    thisiswang Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anyone figure out how to overclock the GNex?
     
  2. BayouFlyFisher

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,960
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
  3. thisiswang

    thisiswang Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    any instructions on how to push the kernal? tried the command in fastboot but it didn't work
     
  4. BayouFlyFisher

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,960
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    I'm not sure, but if fastboot didn't work, I'd think it was meant to be flashed with CWM. But I would not play around with it unitl I knew exactly what to do.

    Good luck.
     
  5. 561427

    561427 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    349
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Ratings:
    +3
    Read on XDA that they are having a tough time getting past 1.4Ghz safely. no one as of a few days ago could get past 1.5. Just take a while longer I guess.
     
  6. throwbot

    throwbot Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Isn't the chip set rated for 1.5 from the factory? I thought we'd have some stable 1.7's and 1.8's shortly after release (especially after seeing how fast the dev community is moving forward with this bad boy). Hell I figured there'd be a toggle widget by now and everything, but I am a patient man and would rather wait for a stable build. Definitely looking forward to overclocking.

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
     
  7. ex0rcist

    ex0rcist Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Its the same chipset thats in rzr and bionic. Dont be fooled by the difference in chipset #. They are all native to 1.2. Not 1.5.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
     
  8. Creed

    Creed Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sort of. The OMAP4460 is a higher-binned chip that can run natively at 1.5GHz with the same voltage as the 4430 can run at 1.2GHz. It is running at 1.2GHz to conserve battery. They are similar but not the same.
     
  9. ex0rcist

    ex0rcist Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Lol idk why people argue this. Physically they ARE EXACTLY THE SAME.. gnex chipsets were chosen from the same manufacturers process for thier higher frequencies at lower voltage characteristics. But Thats all in the die process.. just like one i7 processor will oc better than the next.. doesn't mean they are different. ... Exactly the same chipset.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
     
  10. magnus

    magnus Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Your statement is true, but then again there IS a difference between the two chipsets.

    And that is despite the fact that they were made with the same design and same manufacturing process, they clock higher at the same voltage due to uncontrollable manufacturing differences.....which is pretty much what creed said :) The higher ones are marketed as the 4460, the others as 4430. I wouldn't call them exactly the same chipset if they both aren't capable of doing the same thing
     
  11. captdroid

    captdroid Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,797
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +17
    The way this works generally speaking is the 4460 should clock higher but not necessarily :) Could be a 4430 might clock higher then a 4460. One never really knows due to variations in manufacturing.
     
  12. ex0rcist

    ex0rcist Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    +1 exactly my point. Experienced this so many times building rigs. :)

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
     
Search tags for this page
como overclockear un samsung galaxy nexus
,

galaxy nexus gsm 1.5ghz overclock

,
how ot overclokc the samsung galaxy nexus
,
overclock verizon nexus