Samsung Galaxy Nexus Loses Signal in Stand By Mode After 4.0.4 Update

Discussion in 'Android News' started by cereal killer, Apr 5, 2012.

  1. cereal killer
    Offline

    cereal killer DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    11,074
    Likes Received:
    708
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    [​IMG]


    According to many GSM Galaxy Neuxus users on Google Code, the newest 4.0.4 update is killing cellular signal after the phone has been in stand-by mode for more than 2 minutes. Further testing shows that if the minimum processor clock speed of the Samsung Galaxy Nexus is increased to 700MHz, or if there is a background app that puts a load on the processor, the problem does not occur. Users who flashed back to 4.0.2 report that the issue is not present after the downgrade is performed. If flashing back to 4.0.2 is not an option, a user over on XDA has reported that using a custom kernel with the Smart Reflex feature turned off solves the issue.

    The strange thing about this very serious issue is that it is not affecting all units. Only a specific batch of devices are experiencing the signal loss. Google is aware of the problem and hopefully a fix is on the way.

    Via: Google
  2. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,437
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    TX
    Hopefully that bodes well for LTE users that are looking forward to 4.0.5 - i.e. it's fixable with software.
  3. akhenax
    Online

    akhenax Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,123
    Likes Received:
    107
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    NY
    Or does this mean the 4.0.5 update to be delayed for Verizon users if the problem still exists?
  4. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,437
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    TX
    I hope you're wrong... :) When bmx made that tweet a couple of weeks ago, he hinted that it fixes the problem of the radios going to sleep (4.0.5 that is), so we'll see...
  5. zinethar
    Offline

    zinethar Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Near Rochester, NY
    Hmmm. I have the LTE version (Verizon) and so far have not had this problem so perhaps it is only on GSM models. This update runs smooth so far and is perfect (except for its annoying desire to use a Japanese keyboard that can't be turned off).
  6. BrUhNiGGs
    Offline

    BrUhNiGGs New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Messages:
    756
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, —————— California
    Aw man looks like my Gnex happens to be among those specific batches of them getting signal losses. I am runnign 4.0.4 AOKP, with smartreflex and I do get the issue.
Search tags for this page

signals lost in sleep mod androisd