1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Samsung and Google Confirm Volume Bug On Galaxy Nexus; Working On Update

Discussion in 'Android News' started by dgstorm, Nov 25, 2011.

  1. dgstorm
    Offline

    dgstorm Editor in Chief Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    6,824
    Likes Received:
    1,165
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    [​IMG]

    It looks like there were enough people with the now infamous volume rocker issue on the new Samsung Galaxy Nexus to warrant a full-scale investigation from Samsung and Google. They have both confirmed the issue, and that they are working on an update to correct it. Samsung UK released the following statement, “Regarding the Galaxy Nexus, we are aware of the volume issue and have developed a fix. We will update devices as soon as possible.” Google released a statement that was nearly a perfect match of this one. They haven't detailed a time-frame, but they are working quickly for a fix.

    Although, more than likely the dealy of the release of this phone was a marketing decision to create a cohesive North American launch, perhaps this was something that was caught after the international release of the phone, and this is the real reason the Galaxy Nexus was delayed until December... What do you think?

    Source: DigitalTrends
  2. eagle1967
    Offline

    eagle1967 Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    colorado
    this bug was frequency specific. it does not appear in the unlocked gsm on either tmobile or att. thus i doubt it appears on the lte version either. so while i dont know about other bugs it wasnt this one.
    if they are delaying the nexus for bugs and it actually comes out bug free , it will be the first ever :)
    verizon is a company out to make money. so it may be delaying due to expectations of better sales at that time, allowing more sales of already released phones. or here is one. how about verizon cant program there vcast for ics fast enough to release it on time.
    thre is always the possibility there is a bug that they feel would cause returns thus causing them to lose money.
    my bet is marketing especialy with the droid 4 rumors releasing the same day. i see commercials of something for everyone keyboard or no buttons at all we have them both come be our disciples for 2 years either way. cha-ching!
  3. mnas
    Offline

    mnas New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    now i have no idea how in depth developing n programming go but reading stuff like this....how does this get overlooked...is it that they r testing main bugs that r frequent so phone capabilites @least work​?
  4. sc00by71
    Online

    sc00by71 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    There was a good explanation by an engineer that was confirmed by Google as to the reason for it being possible. Think for a minute how many radios are packed in that little device all emitting radio frequency/emi. Sometimes they only conflict with other areas of the phone (in this case the volume) when the conditions are just right. In a perfect world everything would be bug free before it was released but then it may never be released you have to draw the line somewhere or stifle innovation.
    my .02
  5. djspy
    Offline

    djspy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    641
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    N. California
    What if the delay is because Verizon wants that boot loader locked up? Has any one confirmed it will be un locked or is everyone assuming it will be because it's a "vanilla android"?
  6. steveil
    Offline

    steveil New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have seen no confirmation. Only the vanilla android theory.
Search tags for this page

motorola droid razr maxx hd how many radios