[RECOVERY] Safestrap Recovery v3.7x [05/15/2014 V3.73 - TWRP 2.7]

Discussion in 'Droid 4 Hacks' started by Hashcode, Mar 1, 2012.

  1. ndd
    Offline

    ndd New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    under volting decreases the amount of power the cpu uses, which can save battery life. it also can make your phone unstable, so you have to be careful how low you go. myfishbear has a bunch of options for over/under clocking and volting for his eclipse rom; they seem to work for aokp, too. you can just flash the script of your choice in recovery.

    I'm seeing different stories about CNA; if work continues to be slow, I might give it a try today. one of the problems with the new safestrap is it gives me too many things to play with!
  2. 93fuelslut
    Offline

    93fuelslut New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,169
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    lexington sc
    If it decreases the amount of power, what does that effect? The speed of the phone?

    Wipe cache
    Wipe dalvic
    Flash script
    Reboot????
  3. ndd
    Offline

    ndd New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    from what I understand, for any given frequency, there are a range of voltages over which the phone will operate stably. the stock voltages are fairly high, so there's some wiggle room for lowering them. different phones have different characteristics, so there's no guarantee that what works for me will work for you. myfishbear has scripts for both overclocking and undervolting; you might want to start with the 1200lv script, and if it works well, then try the 1200ulv.

    yep, wipe, wipe, flash and reboot.
  4. Montecarlo97z
    Offline

    Montecarlo97z New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    anyone know the stock voltage frequencies?
  5. ndd
    Offline

    ndd New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    for eclipse 1.3.4, I think they're

    Id Freq Volt(mV)
    0 300 1025
    1 600 1200
    2 800 1325
    3 1000 1388
    4 1200 1398
  6. zadow
    Offline

    zadow New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Quick clarification.

    The installation of a rom via rom slots is stored in the internal memory of the phone and not the external. Is that correct?
  7. orangechoochoo
    Offline

    orangechoochoo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1,109
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    On a caboose
    I mistakenly created a rom slot with 2gb space, and when I flash roms on the other slots I'm only allowed 1gb.

    The problem is now I get low disk space notifications. I don't want to go through the hassle of deleting the 2gb rom and redoing it with 1gb space because I finally have that rom set up perfectly.

    I'm wondering if I can make a backup of it, delete the rom slot, recreate it with 1gb, and restore the backup. Would there be a conflict caused by the fact that it is a 2gb backup and I'm trying to restore it on a 1gb slot?
  8. orangechoochoo
    Offline

    orangechoochoo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1,109
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    On a caboose
    Found the answer on twitter (someone just happened to ask the same question). Hashcode says back up the rom, delete the rom slot, recreate it, and restore the rom.

    EDIT: I can now confirm it works, I just did it and the restored rom works just the same.
    1 person likes this.
  9. ICANSEEYOU7687
    Offline

    ICANSEEYOU7687 New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Possibly a dumb question...

    My stock slot is taking up a ton of space, and I would really rather just install this new rom on top of that. The 8 gigs of internal storage is almost out and it would not let me install this ontop of the "stock rom" slot. Is there a way I can just delete or reuse the default rom slot?

    Thanks!
  10. ndd
    Offline

    ndd New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    as far as I know, it's still disabled. Hashcodes has said he's going to enable it, but as of 10/14 he was still working out some kinks.
  11. kwyrt
    Offline

    kwyrt New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    Re: [RECOVERY] Safestrap Recovery v3.0 [10/17/2012 V3.05 - UMS FIX]

    Take a look at what is eating up that space. I use an app called DiskUsage. It will show you what using your space. For me the biggest culprit was pictures. Moving those to my external sd card freed up a lot of space for me.

    Sent from my XT894 using Tapatalk 2
  12. orangechoochoo
    Offline

    orangechoochoo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1,109
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    On a caboose
    How big are you making your rom slots? I keep mine at 1gb.
  13. Hashcode
    Offline

    Hashcode Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    OP updated for Safestrap v3.11:

    Download the APK Installer Here for "BIONIC, RAZR/MAXX and DROID 4"
    md5sum: 546060f221487ed35cc2f023c7e5d0f1
    FOLLOW THESE INSTRUCTIONS: How to Safestrap
    [ DOUBLE-CHECK you have the BIONIC/RAZR/DROID4 VERSION ]

    CHANGES:
    • [12/29] (3.11) Allow use of custom updater-binary in .zip files for flashing on stock ROM (virtual slots still use prebuilt updater-binary in recovery).
    • [12/29] (3.11) BUGFIX: Fixed fake flash error at the end of a .zip install. (No real error, .zip installs fine)
    • [12/29] (3.10) Early support for booting custom ROMs on stock partitions.
    • [12/29] (3.10) Enable flashing to stock ROM *BE CAREFUL -- NEW FEATURE -- STILL TESTING*
      • After .zip installations, nandroid restore or system wipe on the stock ROM: the current Safestrap files are restored to the system partition (Doesn't include the APK in /data -- so if you're restoring an old backup, be sure to update the Safestrap APK)
      • During the Safestrap files restore a check is done to be sure there are minimal files on /system to re-enter Safestrap
    • [12/29] (3.10) New virtual system partitions will be 640mb (closer match to stock RAZR/D4)
    • [12/27] (3.07) Bugfix: missed some changes in Safestrap 3.06
    • [12/26] (3.06) Bugfix/Update for JB4.1 OTA for DroidRAZR (Non-JB devices can also use)
  14. standard101
    Offline

    standard101 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hopefully an easy question, I am on v3.05 and want to switch back to the stock unsafe slot. In the recovery screen I can select the stock rom slot and activate it. The ROM slot selection is confirmed by the Stock Rom Slot notification in red. But when I reboot the phone it goes right back to the Safe Rom slot 1. Do I have to erase all rom slots before I can boot back into the stock slot?

    edit: Here is an even stranger thing, I have the stock slot plus 2 rom slots. I deleted the second rom slot, so only the stock slot and the 1 rom slot is used. I even changed the nickname on the 2 safe rom slots. When I reboot back into the recovery screen (TWRP), the second ROM slot i deleted is back and even the nicknames are restored right back to where I started. It's like the phone constantly restores a "backup" of itself that I never made.

    Any insights will be appreciated, the one ROM slot I am using is hosed and I would love to get back into my stock slot if possible. Thanks.
  15. DSM4rill
    Offline

    DSM4rill New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re: Safestrap Recovery v3.1 [12/29/2012 V3.11 - Stock Flash+]



    • So does this new version charge the phone in recovery mode or is that done away with?



      Sent from my XT894 using Tapatalk 2
  16. riddlebox420
    Offline

    riddlebox420 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i have a question and i know this is really stupid on my part but i installed version 3 of safestrap and i had the original version is there a way i can go back to the original to get my backup of my phone being stock rooted becasue i accidentally flashed a rom over top of the main rom slot by accident or am i just screwed
  17. makewayhomer
    Offline

    makewayhomer New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Droid Razr M no splash screen

    I have a Razr M. I was running stock until today, when I

    - factory reset
    - rooted (successfully I think)
    - installed safestrap 3.05 and “Installed Recovery”

    however I can’t get any safestrap splash screen to show up on reboot. is there anything I need to do?
  18. ndd
    Offline

    ndd New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    recover corrupted userdata.img from safestrap slot?

    today something happened and I lost access to '/data' in rom slot 3, and on a reboot it complains about encryption failing. I can boot the stock image just fine, but rom slot 3 (eclipse) was my daily driver, and, of course, I don't have a recent backup. I tried mounting the userdata img on my linux machine and got

    EXT3-fs error (device loop0): ext3_check_descriptors: Block bitmap for group 0 not in group (block 2553887680)!
    EXT3-fs (loop0): error: group descriptors corrupted

    I'm going to try using fsck to fix it, but while I'm waiting to get the chance, I'm wondering if there are any other options. this is safestrap 3.05.
  19. ndd
    Offline

    ndd New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    okay, got a chance to try this, and it worked! here's what I did:

    switch to the stock slot (you could probably use any other working slot; not entirely sure)

    mount the internal sd card on a linux box. for me, when I plug it in to the computer with the USB cable, the internal card is auto-mounted as /media/MOT .

    look in the appropriate rom slot. I was using rom slot 3, so I looked in '/media/MOT/safestrap/rom-slot3'.

    I then copied 'userdata.img' to my local disk; you could attempt the repair in place, but I didn't want to take a chance of messing things up any further. so

    cp /media/MOT/safestrap/rom-slot3/userdata.img /scratch/droid4

    cd /scratch/droid4

    at least on my linux system, fsck won't run on a file, so you have to mount the image as a device:

    losetup /dev/loop0 userdata.img
    fsck -y /dev/loop0

    I don't usually like '-y', which gives fsck permission to make all repairs without asking, but there seemed to be a lot of problems, and since this is just a copy...

    then umount the device

    losetup -d /dev/loop0

    I then made yet another copy of the 'bad' img, just in case, after which I copied the repaired image back onto the phone

    cp /scratch/droid4/userdata.img /media/MOT/safestrap/rom-slot3

    powered the phone up, switched back to rom slot 3, rebooted, and everything looks just like it did before. even the time-keeping application that had been running when the phone crashed was correct!

    I'm not sure why I had this problem: I was getting some strange behavior from swype in google voice, and was experimenting with removing/re-installing those apps, and wham!
  20. donmanguno
    Offline

    donmanguno New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I ****ed up

    So, last night I installed safestrap on my brand new DROID4. To make a long story short, I wiped the Stock ROM slot and I have no backup. I have CM 10.1 running in ROM-Slot-1, but I'd like to restore the Stock ROM if possible.

    A) Will I be able to restore a backup of the Stock ROM if I can find one? If so, does anyone have a backup that I can use to this end?

    if not -

    B) Will flashing the stock 4.0.4 firmware here using fastboot be an acceptable solution? I can't remove safestrap, as I have no Stock ROM to uninstall it from.

    if not -

    C) What can I do?
Search tags for this page
download safestrap
,
droid 4 safestrap
,
safe strap
,

safestrap

,
safestrap 3
,
safestrap apk
,
safestrap apk download
,
safestrap download
,
safestrap droid 3
,
safestrap droid 4
,
safestrap recovery
,
safestrap.apk