1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

safestrap 2.0 not working??

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR Roms' started by fasttrek, Jun 23, 2012.

  1. fasttrek
    Offline

    fasttrek New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hi all, i'm a total newb in flashing roms... wanted to have a 1st try at BLACK WIDOW but it requires safestrap v1.09 or 2.0
    i couldnt find any 1.09 so i tried the 2.0 instead... but aft i've installed, reboot, and press the menu button during rebooting, it only got me to a black screen with a hat-like image in the middle....and thats it! nothing more.... any advise??
  2. ShadER
    Offline

    ShadER New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I also have been unable to get safestrap to work with ICS. It barely worked on GB and would get stuck in boot 75% of the time.
  3. mars_ill
    Offline

    mars_ill New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    same problem here too. I'm on rooted GB .181. After installing recovery with safe strap and rebooting I just get a really dim screen with the black hat on it. I tried several times. Once I even started messing with the soft and hard buttons the dim screen turned into another dim screen with a green Android with blue stuff coming out of it's stomach and ass.
  4. fasttrek
    Offline

    fasttrek New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    no cures yet....this is disturbing =.=
    any1 out there who've successfully flashed BLACK WIDOW???? i need advice!!! i mean we need advice!!!!!
  5. InVeNtOr
    Offline

    InVeNtOr New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Had the same issue. Got it all fixed now. Did u ever install bootstrap? If so u need to go to system/bin and delete "hijack" and "logwrapper". Then u need to rename "logwrapper.bin" to "logwrapper". I also installed black widow, changed it for symplx.
    Safeboot 1.9 is for GB and 2.0 is for ICS.
    I also had to do a factory reset and delete internal and external data. I couldn't update to ICS before this point either. I did matts utility 1.51 and my phone went back to. 173. Then i got an OTA for .181 ( my original build). After that installed i got the OTA ICS. Ever since then, phones been awesome. I think u need ICS for BW to load correctly.
    I suggest matts utility. If u r on GB, u can do 1.51. 1.7 version is for ICS.
  6. InVeNtOr
    Offline

    InVeNtOr New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Forgot to mention. I used bootstrap v2 to install BW. I think that Was the root of my problem. Oh yeah my phone bricked after BW. It was all fine until i did a back up. After it finished and i rebooted, it bricked. After i stopped crying, google and i got together and figured out how to fix it. All in all, not a big deal.
  7. fasttrek
    Offline

    fasttrek New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    after i've got the ics update, the safestrap 2.0 works fine again =.=
    but another thing came up...i've been trying to create a nandroid backup...and it says "ERROR WHILE MAKING A BACKUP IMAGE OF /SYSTEMORIG!"
    i'm creating the backup to my external SD (for a while i tot it was my sd card's prob...so i formatted it already) and i included webtop in it...
    anyone having the same prob??
  8. InVeNtOr
    Offline

    InVeNtOr New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not here. Safestrap was quite simple. I dont understand the webtop and system backup options. I just back them up anyway. Do u need to have safestrap disabled to do a back up? Its always been disabled when i do it.
  9. fasttrek
    Offline

    fasttrek New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i think u mean safe system....from what i've found, they say backing up with safe system DISABLED is the most thorough backup with ur stock rom and all..
    correct me if i'm wrong :p
  10. fasttrek
    Offline

    fasttrek New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    btw...i havent got any solution for the above matter yet zzzzz
  11. fasttrek
    Offline

    fasttrek New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    come one....this has become practically a dead thread....i'm still hoping for a solution!!!!

    someone! anyone! just please help out!!!!!:hail::hail::hail::hail::hail:
  12. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,350
    Likes Received:
    270
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Are you trying to perform a backup in safe or non-safe mode?

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
  13. fasttrek
    Offline

    fasttrek New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    non-safe mode...and the next thing, that error message... any clue what's wrong? i'm dying to install custom rom but i cant get pass this stage!!!!:mad:
  14. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,350
    Likes Received:
    270
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Trying to do a little research for you. You are going to have to hang in there.

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
  15. fasttrek
    Offline

    fasttrek New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i've tried to look into this prob in lots n lots of other forums and technical supports but i jez cant find solutions...
    but who knows u might find something i cant... so thank u soooo much guidot :hail:
  16. Hashcode
    Offline

    Hashcode Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Can you give me a quick summary of your device?

    Like from what I gather:
    - RAZR, need specific model
    - What OS version (specific to OTA/leak)
    - Safestrap v2.0 installed
    - How much free space on both internal emmc space and external sd

    Symptom: Trying to do a backup in non-safe mode ends with systemorig error.

    Correct?

    Sent from my XT894 using Tapatalk 2
  17. fasttrek
    Offline

    fasttrek New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    - Droid Razr XT910
    - official Android version 4.0.4
    - yup, safestrap 2.0
    - sorry...i'm not familiar with what emmc space is...but when i connet to desktop:-
    my 'MOT drive' has 2.98Gb free,
    and 'External SD' 12.5GB free

    and finally YES thats the symptom!~ and i feel helpless and hopeless (T-T)
    i want custom roooom~~~~dancedroid
  18. fasttrek
    Offline

    fasttrek New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    btw, i tried out with bootstrap to the exact same error...and interestingly, as i'm loitering around cwm, i suddenly saw a command saying the '"back menu'" (or something like dat) has been disabled...:blink:
    cant reboot afterwards, so i did the hold power and volume buttons to reboot, uninstall bootstrap immediately and never retried bootstrap ever since :p
  19. Hashcode
    Offline

    Hashcode Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Ah XT910. Unfortunately, the version of Safestrap that works for XT910 is still in testing (to install custom ROMs).

    However, this doesn't explain the error message. I may have to talk to DHacker who now owns the XT910 device which was supplied for dev.

    Sent from my XT894 using Tapatalk 2
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2012
  20. fasttrek
    Offline

    fasttrek New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thanks for your hard work :hail:..i'm starting to see rays of hope now dancedroid
Search tags for this page
droid bionic safestrap not working
,
error while making a backup image of /systemorig!
,
error while making image of/systemorig
,
razr not turning on safestrap
,
safestrap 3.65 not installing correctly on razr maxx
,
safestrap always stopped working
,
safestrap buttons not working
,
safestrap hard buttons on droid razr
,
safestrap menu black screen
,
safestrap motorola razr not opening
,

safestrap not working

,
safestrap safe system not active
,
safestrap stops working razr m
,

safestrap v1.09

,
unable to mount /systemorig