S l o w ! D2 vs my Dx

Discussion in 'Droid 2 Tech Issues' started by mpls1969, Dec 25, 2010.

  1. mpls1969

    mpls1969 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I bought my wife a Droid 2 for christmas. She likes the keyboard to text better than my swype.

    Anyway. Is the Droid 2 supposed to be this slow? It stutters and stops constantly. You cannot scroll the home pages (at first I thought the touchscreen was acting up but I think it's cuz it's slow) and you can't scroll the app section without it freezing up for half a second. Its really annoying.

    Should I just go back and get my wife a droid x or fascinate or something?

    I installed app killer btw and it makes no difference.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  2. microsnook

    microsnook Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    Get rid of the app killer, its unnecessary.

    Menu>Settings>Display>Turn off animations (this will speed it up)

    Also, if you want to root it (easy, instructions everywhere) you can install a custom rom and then the phone should be much faster w/o all of the MOTOBLUR on there. This will allow you to overclock the phone as well, increasing performance.

    There is no need to take it back though, mine is speedy as hell!
     
  3. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8

    The D2 and the X basically are the same inside. I suspect something else is going on.

    First, get rid of the app killer. They will do more harm then good. Next, check and see if you have an antivirus installed. Sometimes those friendly folks at verizon will install a program like lookout for you and although it's well meaning, the antivirus is a resource hog. If you have an antivirus uninstall that.

    Check that out first and then get back to us. My D2 is lightning fast and runs smooth as silk. I am rooted but it's always been a smooth running phone.
     
  4. Taegost

    Taegost Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    687
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Tampa Bay, Fl
    Ratings:
    +1
    BY
    I agree, the Droid 2 and X are almost identical hardware-wise, and even when I run a ton of apps I rarely encounter stuttering and slowness, except when the market is updating a bunch of apps, but I think that's normal and it's not too bad.
    Definitely get back to us after checking what Hookbill suggested.

    My Droid Does Tapatalk...
     
  5. pool_shark

    pool_shark Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,395
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    I don't have any lag on my D2 either. I am rooted but not running any new ROM. Blur is not the cause of any slowness.
     
  6. random190user44

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    893
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    United States
    Ratings:
    +0
    In my experience, blur is very slow and laggy. Id recommend the OP simply install launcherpro or any other home launcher.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  7. pool_shark

    pool_shark Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,395
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    I have had my D2 since the day it came out, I never had any slowness with blur. I only installed LP to get the home screen in landscape without having to pull out the keyboard, it had nothing to do with slowness.
     
  8. random190user44

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    893
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    United States
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, then I don't know why motoblur has always been slow and laggy for me. From the first moment I used my Droid x, until the day I returned it for a Droid 2. Both the x/2 have had a slow and laggy motoblur interface for me.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  9. mpls1969

    mpls1969 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have Advanced Task Killer (that's what I meant when I said app killer) are you saying I should get rid of it? Is it not necessary?


    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  10. Bilgediver

    Bilgediver Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    910
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    On Board a ship
    Ratings:
    +4
    Correct its completely unecessary, especially when your phone has to clear and refill 512 megs of ram

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums App
     
  11. mpls1969

    mpls1969 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hmm. Ok. I just assumed it would help to clear out programs that were eating memory and processing.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  12. Bilgediver

    Bilgediver Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    910
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    On Board a ship
    Ratings:
    +4
    It does, but android puts them back in.

    Apps preloaded into memory aren't using processing, and most apps you open and then leave aren't either. Only apps that constantly use the phones resources/sensors use battery that way (e.g. navigating and then you switch to ur homescreen to make a call).

    Apps preloaded into memory are there so you can quickly run an app without having to wait. They are generally NOT using processor/battery power.

    For a quick check go into your phones settings menu, check under power/battery settings to see what actually is using battery. 9 times out of ten it should be display (unless its standby)

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums App