Running sevices.

Discussion in 'Droid X Tech Support' started by zjh, Sep 24, 2010.

  1. zjh

    zjh New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello, I was wondering if anyone could help me. I stopped a running service for a gps toggle widget not knowing what it was. Won't be doing that again. Now everytime I turn a non stock gps widget on or off it sends me to settings which is very annoying. I was wondering if anyone knows what I did or if there is a way to fix it. Again thanks for your help.
     
  2. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    Which phone? Reason I ask is I have a D2 and it takes me to settings when I hit my beautiful widgets GPS short cut. I don't think my D1 did that, I'll have to check.

    Edit: D1 goes to settings too. I think that's the way it's suppose to work.
     
    #2 hookbill, Sep 24, 2010
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2010
  3. zjh

    zjh New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry I forgot. Droidx. It didn't used to take me to settings until I stopped that running service. now I don't know if its a setting is off or I somehow need to restore that service. the stock gps widget doesn't take me to settings though. Just widgets from the market.
     
  4. HarvesterX™

    HarvesterX™ Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    Ratings:
    +9
    I guess the more important question is "What is the name the GPS widget you were using"? I ask because the Power Control Plus GPS widget has always toggled GPS instantly where as Beautiful Widgets has always taken me go he Settings dialog.

    I would suggest just uninstalling the widget applicaton you are using and then reinstall it.
     
  5. Sydman

    Sydman Premium Member
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,870
    Likes Received:
    608
    Trophy Points:
    243
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Ratings:
    +677
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6P
    If you are looking for the stock GPS widget can't you just long press on home screen and go to android widgets and choose power control?
     
  6. zjh

    zjh New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry, I have weather and toggle widget. I have the stock widget also but I can't figure out why no other widget will work automatically. I have now downloaded a couple of different widgets to see what they would do and they also take me to the settings page. I don't want to have to use the stock widget forever so that is why I'm posting this. I am thinking it has something to do with running services but I'm not sure.
     
  7. Sydman

    Sydman Premium Member
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,870
    Likes Received:
    608
    Trophy Points:
    243
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Ratings:
    +677
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6P
    Oh yeah not sure either that is just the way it is, beautiful widgets does the same thing.
     
Search tags for this page
gpstoggle$ update service
,

gpstoggle$updateservice