Running Netflix on Droid 2 with Gingerbread?

Discussion in 'Droid 2 Tech Issues' started by s10rodder, May 24, 2011.

  1. s10rodder

    s10rodder New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Guys, I'm new to android stuff, and not very computer savvy... Can someone walk me through something here? I have heard that you can now run netflix on a droid 2 if you have gingerbread. First off, I have no clue what gingerbread is...and no clue what it does to your phone or how to get it... Also, if this is something that really does work, and would be possible for me to do, can someone let me know how?? Really appreciate any help on this.
     
  2. DroidBurgundy

    DroidBurgundy Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
  3. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    Moved to Droid 2 tech issues.
     
  4. ldopa

    ldopa Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Ratings:
    +2
  5. newk8600

    newk8600 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    CO/NE
    Ratings:
    +0
    The modified .apk without the device check works perfectly on my D2 running Liberty 2.0 (Froyo)
     
  6. ldopa

    ldopa Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Ratings:
    +2
    +1

    From my Liberated DROID2 at 1.25ghz
     
  7. s10rodder

    s10rodder New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    How do I go about getting Liberty 2.0?
     
  8. ldopa

    ldopa Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Ratings:
    +2
    Go to the liberty thread and dl the file. Boot into cw, do a wipe and flash the file. There are countless threads on this. Start searching

    Droid 2 Liberty GB v0.7
     
  9. DC 1127

    DC 1127 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    First you have to root your phone. This might be a little challenging for someone new to android. Id read up on it before doing anything. Personally, I dont think you want to go through the rooting process just to have netflix on your phone.

    Liberated Droid 2 GB
     
  10. ldopa

    ldopa Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Ratings:
    +2
    I would! Netflix is awesome. For me especially because my phone is my only source for netflix and movies

    From my Self-Aware Droid 2 APEX GB v2.0