running applications/services ...

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by zero7404, Apr 2, 2010.

  1. zero7404
    Offline

    zero7404 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    under manage applications, when i filter to show running applications i see many apps i don't use, such as facebook.

    how does this differ from the running services section ? also, how do i go into the settings of the apps i don't use and set them so they don't run automatically ?

    i am looking to streamline all the running services on my phone, so i can get some better performance.

    non-rooted
  2. modette
    Offline

    modette New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Monument, CO
    From my understanding the phone is like Linux and unlike Windows just because it is shown as running it is not actually running till it is needed. By having the instance there it speeds up load times.
  3. jsh1120
    Offline

    jsh1120 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2,462
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington
    Correct. The term "running" would be better termed "in memory." If it helps, take a look at your Windows task manager on your computer. You'll see a tab labelled "processes." There are likely hundreds of them. You'll also see columns for "CPU" and "Memory." Sort by the CPU column and you'll see processes jumping all over the place. Any process that's labeled "00" is not "running" despite the fact that it's in "memory."

    In the Android environment it's possible to have badly designed applications that unnecessarily trigger "running services," but the fact that an application is "in memory" doesn't mean it is "running." It's just sitting there. Don't worry about them.
  4. zero7404
    Offline

    zero7404 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thanks all ...

    he he ... well, if i had 'hundreds' of processes listed in the task manager, i would really be grinding my teeth trying to use the computer. i think there are some 50 or so processes listed ....

    anyway, when i want speed i use ubuntu ....
  5. jsh1120
    Offline

    jsh1120 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2,462
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington
    As we used to say about engines, cubic inches solve every problem. :) Just checked my desktop system and I have 180 processes running. And of course you're right. I've long thought that Microsoft is secretly controlled by Intel and it's all just a plot to sell more hardware.
  6. zero7404
    Offline

    zero7404 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    u never kno ....
  7. Christoph3r
    Offline

    Christoph3r New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok, but back to the OP's question.

    If he doesn't use Facebook, then why wouldn't he want to keep it from showing up? It's just plain annoying to see it there if you don't want it.

    I just upgraded to 2.2 and now I'm getting Yahoo! email notifications that I wasn't before. It's aggravating that I have to waste my time figuring out how to get it back to how it was already (not making noise everytime an email comes in, and not running unless I LAUNCHED it myself).

    There should be an obvious and simple way to tell your phone that you don't want it to run applications that you don't want!
Search tags for this page
application/running services motorola
,

connecttopcservice

,
connecttopcservice android
,
manage running services android
,
running services droid
,
running services not needed on lg phone
,
what are processes and services in droid apps
,
what does it mean in phone apps running i process and 2 serv
,

what is connecttopcservice

,
what is connecttopcservice on htc
,
what services are needed to run on phone?
,
where is running services on droid