1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Run Stock Android on Rezound?

Discussion in 'HTC Rezound Development' started by Xander Crews, Aug 21, 2012.

  1. Xander Crews
    Offline

    Xander Crews New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    St. Louis
    I have been an Android owner since the G1 days...so I know my way around the OS...but...
    And this may be a dumb question, but can I root my Rezound and run stock android? Not stock from HTC, but stock from Google.
    I have never rooted a phone before but I am getting anxious to be running on vanilla Android.
    Can I do this on the Rezound? If so...can someone point me to a link with step by step instructions and I'll look it over and see if I want to do it.
    I'm running ICS now.

    How are future OS updates handled? Would I get them? How would that work? And what is the likelyhood I'll screw up my phone?

    Thanks guys.
  2. LoudRam
    Offline

    LoudRam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,266
    Likes Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Southern NJ
    I'm not an expert on rooting so I may be wrong but I'm pretty sure they have a vanilla ics rom you can get. And if you do root and flash a custom rom you will taken off the upgrade path. So any future updates would either have to be flashed by you or you'll have to take your phone back to stock to get the ota.

    Sent from my HTC Rezound using Droid Forums
  3. Xander Crews
    Offline

    Xander Crews New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    St. Louis
    Few more questions...
    Is that how folks typically do it, to flash future updates?
    What is the process there?
    If I rooted and went with a Vanilla Android, then an updated was released later then I flashed the new update, does that wipe the phone?
    And how soon after a new version is released is the option typically available to flash? I would imagine that the new version would be available to flash before the OTA is available for my Rezound, is that a safe assumption?

    Thanks.
  4. Xander Crews
    Offline

    Xander Crews New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    St. Louis
    Anyone have any info they'd like to share? I'd like to see about doing this.
  5. kodiak799
    Offline

    kodiak799 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,752
    Likes Received:
    205
    Trophy Points:
    63
    There's a few steps you have to do. It takes a little bit, but it's not awful. You have to unlock you're phone and then unlock the bootloader. Go oever to XDA forums for all the details and files.

    They just released a stable CM9 kang, which I loaded on my phone last night actually.
Search tags for this page
htc rezound pure android rom
,
htc rezound root stock android
,
htc rezound root vanilla andriod rom
,

htc rezound stock android

,
htz rezound vanilla android rom
,
plain android rom for htc rezound
,
run stock android rezound
,

stock android htc rezound

,

stock android on htc rezound

,

stock android on rezound

,

vanilla android on rezound

,

vanilla android rezound