[Rumor] Motorola Droid X2 May have Lower Specs than Originally Thought

Discussion in 'Android News' started by dgstorm, Feb 16, 2011.

  1. dgstorm

    dgstorm Editor in Chief Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    7,813
    Likes Received:
    1,749
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +1,784
    [​IMG]

    Previously, we reported some leaked pics and specs for the Motorola Droid X2 that is coming in Q2. Unfortunately, new industry intelligence indicates that the specs are a bit lower than originally thought. Sources from Engadget suggest that the new Droid X2 will not come with a dual-core processor, 1GB of Ram, and an enhanced screen, but instead will only be a refresh of the current model. It's new specs will be a 1.2GHz single-core cpu, 768MB Ram, and the same screen it currently has. It still will not come with LTE/4G support, and it is still due to be released in the second quarter.

    Personally, I hope Preach2k's original report turns out to be accurate and that this new info is false.

    Source: Android.net via Engadget
     
  2. johnomaz

    johnomaz Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,579
    Likes Received:
    325
    Trophy Points:
    148
    Location:
    Central Valley, California
    Ratings:
    +332
    That would be a total waste. Such a small upgrade, its almost useless.
     
  3. crackedvenom

    crackedvenom Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Seriously. Stop making awesome phones, and then trying to profit by making another version that isnt really any better.
     
  4. Dark_Jedi

    Dark_Jedi Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Blytheville, AR
    Ratings:
    +2
    Well..the DX isnt awesome. So this is still just another waste lol.
     
  5. mjforte

    mjforte Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    That is a sorry excuse of an upgrade. They should't call it DX2 but more like 1.5

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  6. Martin030908

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    ... don't get too wound up folks, it's still just rumor.

    only time will tell.
     
  7. mjforte

    mjforte Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wonder if this is Verizon's doing? Not wanting too many high end phones better than iPhone?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  8. kodiak799

    kodiak799 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    284
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Ratings:
    +296
    Well, like someone else said, it may not make sense to have equal or better specs than the Bionic. People in 3G areas can purchase and use the Bionic just fine.

    But the Bionic will probably be $300 on 2-yr contract. This teeny-tiny refresh on the DX lets them put something out there to hold the $199 price point.

    Purely a guess, and we'll see what the real specs are. It is funny though that this will have more ram than the Bionic. How much more would it really have cost them to bump the ram in the Bionic? Bionic would be my perfect phone if it had 1 gig ram.
     
  9. CoFoltman84

    CoFoltman84 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    518-NY
    Ratings:
    +1
    bionic is dual core 512 though...so once theirs apps that run using the dual core, it'll be quicker than the 768 x2
     
  10. crackedvenom

    crackedvenom Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well ive never had one, but im sure it was great when it came out. Now? No because there are way better phones out.
     
  11. kodiak799

    kodiak799 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    284
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Ratings:
    +296
    Not when you have to wait for it to kill apps and load new ones into memory from the SD because it doesn't have enough #$%#@ ram.
     
  12. Travillion

    Travillion Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    State College, PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wow, if it's true then that's crap and I have no idea why they think that would sell.
     
  13. Detonation

    Detonation Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    932
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Ratings:
    +6
    Shortly after they release this, they will discontinue and then re-release it as the DX2 Global.

    Three phones for the R&D cost of one!
     
  14. dfuser312553

    dfuser312553 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,078
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    Lawlz 789!
     
  15. pc747

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    18,363
    Likes Received:
    1,619
    Trophy Points:
    958
    Ratings:
    +1,658
    Lets allow it to play out, but right now the TB is looking better and better.
     
Search tags for this page
8855 droid
,
a 8855 moto droid
,
how much ram can be freed on droid dx2?
,

motorola 8855

,
motorola model 8855 specs