Ruining my droid.

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by ndeer44, Jun 5, 2010.

DroidForums.net is the premier Android Forum - Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
  1. ndeer44

ndeer44 New Member

Ratings:
    +0
    Im new to all this rooting and ROMs and stuff but havnt messed up so far. I got stuck in a boot loop but was able to recovered but that opened my eyes to possibly ruining my droid. If i have a backup recovery is there any way to possibly ruin my droid? First i had SPRecovery (which had my unrooted and fresh rooted backups) but then when i got ROM manager it gave me ClockworkMod Recovery. I went ahead and just copied over the backup folders from nandroid into the new recovery location.

Im not planning to overclock my droid much so im not worried about overheating it or anything just bricking it
  2. cpjr

cpjr Senior Member

Ratings:
    +0
    Well its not impossible to brick the phone....havent ever worried about it myself though.
  3. borgey401

borgey401 Member

Ratings:
    +0
    umm i dont think SPRecovery backups are compatable with Clockwork.... Someone correct me if I am wrong but when installing a ROM that comes as a nandroid backup there is usually two downloads one for SPRecovery and one for Clockwork. if i was you i would backup your current ROM using whatever recovery image you have flashed right now so you know for a fact you have atleast one good backup in case something goes wrong. but don't worrie just because you got stuck in a boot loop doesn't mean you are hurting your phone. it's pretty hard to brick this beast if you pay attention to what you are doing. even if you do brick it there is a sbf file you can flash to unbrick it and get you back to 2.0.1. that being said you're fine just make sure you don't go out of your comfort zone and follow directions to a T.
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2010
  4. ndeer44

ndeer44 New Member

Ratings:
    +0